Carroll County, TennesseeEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Tennessee Gotoarrow.png Carroll County

Carroll County, Tennessee genealogy and family history research page. Guide to Carroll County (established 1821) genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Tennessee
Online Records


Carroll County, Tennessee
Map
Boundary map of Carroll County, Tennessee
Map of Tennessee highlighting Carroll County
Location in the state of Tennessee
Map of the U.S. highlighting Tennessee
Location of Tennessee in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: November 7, 1821
County Seat Huntingdon
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
TGW 45x45.jpg This page adopted by:
TNGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Carroll County Tennessee Quick Dates

Carroll County's civil records start the following years:[1]

Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1908 1838 1908 1830 1822 1822

Carroll County Tennessee Courthouse

Carroll County Courthouse
625 High Street; PO Box 110
Huntingdon, TN 38344
Phone: 731.986.1960 

County Clerk has marriage records from 1838.
Register of Deeds has land records. [2]

Carroll County Courthouse, Huntingdon, Tenn. Courtesy: Collection: County Court Houses, Flickr by Jimmy Emerson. Used by permission.
Carroll County Courthouse
625 High St.
Huntingdon, TN 38344
Phone: 1-731-986-1960


Carroll County Clerk
625 High St. Suite 103
Hungtingdon, TN 38344
Phone: 1-731-986-1960
Marriage and Probate records

Carroll County Register of Deeds
625 High St. Suite 104
Huntingdon, TN 38344
Phone: 1-731-986-1952
Land records

Carroll County Clerk of Circuit Court
625 High St.
Huntingdon, TN 38344
Phone: 1-731-986-3031
Court records

Hours:
Mon.-Thurs. 8 a.m.-4 p.m.
Fri. 8 a.m.-5 p.m.

Carroll County Tennessee History

The county is named after six-term Tennessee Governor William Carroll (1788-1844).[3]

Parent County

1821--Carroll County was created 7 November 1821 from Chickasaw Indian Lands.
County seat: Huntingdon [4]

County Pronunciation

  1. Hear it spoken[5] (female)
  2. Hear it spoken[6] (male)

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Tennessee counties see: Tennessee Counties with Burned Courthouses

Fire.png
1931 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.[7]

  • Lost census: 1890
  • Lack of marriage records: 1821 to 1837

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Carroll County Tennessee Places / Localities

"Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. They rely on AniMap 3.0 software.


Populated Places

Atwood Garrettsburg Lavinia Shiloh
Bethel Hickory Flat Leach Smyrna
Bruceton Hico Long Rock Tate
Buena Vista Hillard Macedonia Terry
Cedar Grove Hinkledale McKenzie Trezevant
Cherrywood Hollow Rock McLemoresville Vale
Christmasville Hopewell Mixie Westport
Clarksburg Howley New Zion Whitthorne
Concord Huntingdon Poplar Springs Wingo
Davis Chapel Jarrell Robison Yuma
Dollar Jumbo Rosser
Ephesus Lakewood Scott Hill

Neighboring Counties

Carroll County Tennessee Genealogy Resources

Tncarroll.png

Getting Started

Use the free Search for Surnames at Mountain Press's website to quickly search a variety of published Carroll County biography and court records. To determine which books are being searched, or to search each publication's index individually, click here. You are now equipped with a checklist of books to pull off the shelves at a genealogy library, or a wish list for your personal book collection.

Research Guides

African American

United States African Americans Gotoarrow.png Tennessee African Americans

Cemeteries

Tennessee cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

The following websites may contain Carroll County cemetery records:

  • Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried. Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone. May give obituaries, names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.

Census

1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 federal population censuses of Carroll County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.

See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See Carroll County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files. [The USGenWeb Census Project®]

1830

  • Shaw, Aurora C. Carroll County, Tennessee census : U.S. census of 1830 Jacksonville, Florida : Southern Genealogist's Exchange Society, [197-?] FHL US/CAN Book 976.825 X2

1840

  • Gregory, Jannine and Guy Perry. "The 1840 Census of Carroll County TN," available online through USGenWeb Archives.

1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners

1850

  • S-K Publications. "Carroll County, TN - 1850 Census Index," available online through USGenWeb Archives.

1860

  • Brown, John C. and Catheryn C. The Eighth Census of the United States 1860, Carroll County, Tennessee Mckenzie, Tennessee : Carroll County Historical Society (AR), 1979. FHL US/CAN Book 976.825 X2

1880

  • Merritt, Karen. "1880 Carroll Co. TN Census," [10 Districts] available online through USGenWeb Archives.
  • Sistler, Byron and Barbara. 1880 Census, Carroll, Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: Byron Sistler and Associates, 1991. FHL US/CAN Book 976.825 X2.

1890 - Lost, but substitutes are available:

  • Reed, Sue S. Enumeration of Male Inhabitants of Twenty-one Years of Age and Upward, Citizens of Tennessee, January 1, 1891, as Provided for by an Act of General Assembly of Tennessee, Passed January 15, 1891, and Approved January 22, 1891. 8 vols. Houston, Texas: S.S. Reed, 1989. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2r v. 2 1891. [Carroll County is included in Vol. 2.]
  • Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1890 Civil War Veterans Census, Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: Byron Sister and Associates, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1890.

1900

  • Carroll County, Tennessee Census, 1900 - 1920 Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2002 FHL Vault US/CAN Film 2139478 item 1 (Microproduction of originals housed at the Gordon Browning Museum and Genealogical Society in McKenzie, Tennessee)
  • Ing, Lisa. "1900 Carroll County TN Census," [22 Districts] available online through USGenWeb Archives.

1910

  • Carroll County, Tennessee Census, 1900 - 1920 Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2002 FHL Vault US/CAN Film 2139478 item 1 (Microproduction of originals housed at the Gordon Browning Museum and Genealogical Society in McKenzie, Tennessee)

1920

  • Carroll County, Tennessee Census, 1900 - 1920 Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2002 FHL Vault US/CAN Film 2139478 item 1 (Microproduction of originals housed at the Gordon Browning Museum and Genealogical Society in McKenzie, Tennessee)

Church

Church records include baptisms, marriages and burials, as well as information about family members and clues about family migration.  For additional information about church records, religions, and religious archives in Tennessee, see Tennessee Church Records.

  • Carroll County Church Records
- FamilySearch Catalog - Carroll County Church Records


  • If the records you need are not through the Family History Library, contact the church(es) in the area where your ancestor lived.  Two sites that give information about churches in Carroll County are:
- List of Carroll County churches with addresses and phone numbers (Yellowbook)
- List of Carroll County churches (TN HomeTownLocator)


  • In 1936, a helpful guide to early Carroll County church records was published by the Works Project Administration. [8]Use this guide to locate which church records exist and where they were housed in 1936. The Tennessee State Library and Archives has filmed some of these records. To locate which records are available at the TSLA, go to the appropriate "county fact sheet" on the TSLA Web site and scroll down to "selected manuscript material". All filmed church records at the TSLA for Carroll County are listed.

Baptist

  • [1823-1885] Hollow Rock Primitive Baptist Church Records. Carroll County, 1823-1885. Manuscript. TSLA Reel #402
  • [1823-1885] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. vol. 2 FHL 976.8 K29s Index to original Hollow Rock Primitive Baptist Church Records.
  • [1824-1971] Union Academy Missionary Baptist Church Records. McKenzie, 1824-1971. Manuscript. TSLA Reel #421.
  • 1824-1885 - Union Academy Missionary Baptist Church, McKenzie, Birth Index 1824-1885 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C593911.[9]
  • 1824-1895 - Union Academy Missionary Baptist Church, McKenzie, Marriage Index 1824-1885 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C593911.[9]
  • [1824-1900] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. vol. 2  FHL 976.8 K29s Index to original Union Academy Missionary Baptist Church Records. McKenzie, 1824-1971
  • [1825-1968] Mud Creek Primitive Baptist Church Records. Carroll County, 1825-1968. Manuscript. TSLA Reel #425  FHL 499874
  • [1825-1900] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979.  vol. 2 FHL 976.8 K29s Index to original Mud Creek Primitive Baptist Church Records. Carroll County, 1825-1968.
  • [1858-1878] Concord Baptist Church Records. Christmasville, 1858-1878. Manuscript. TSLA Reel #408
  • [1858-1878] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. vol. 2  FHL 976.8 K29s Index to original Concord Baptist Church Records. Christmasville.
  • [1883-1966] First Baptist Church Records. McKenzie, 1883-1966. Manuscript. TSLA Reel #411.
  • [1883-1900] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. vol. 2  FHL 976.8 K29s Index to original First Baptist Church Records. McKenzie, 1883-1966.
  • [1888-] Missionary Baptist, Huntingdon. [8]
  • [1896-1972} Westport Missionary Baptist Church Records. Carroll County, 1896-1972 TSLA Reel #411
  • [1896-1900] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. FHL 976.8 K29s Index to original Westport Missionary Baptist Church Records.
  • [1898-1972] . Mt. Nebo Baptist Church Records. Buena Vista, 1898-1972. Manuscript. TSLA Reel #407
  • [1898-1900] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. FHL 976.8 K29s vol.2   Index to original Mt. Nebo Baptist Church Records. Buena Vista, 1898-1972.

Methodist

  • [1889-] First Church, Huntington.[8]
  • [1871-] McKenzie Church. [8]
  • [1882-] McLemoresville Church. [8]
  • [1887-] Trezevant Church. [8]

Methodist Episcopal

  • [1867-1969] First United Methodist Episcopal Church Records. McKenzie, 1867-1968. Manuscript. TSLA Reel #406.
  • [1867-1900] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. FHL 976.8 K29s vol.2   Index to original First United Methodist Episcopal Church Records. McKenzie, 1867-1968.

Presbyterian

  • [1824-1892] Hopewell Presbytery of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church Records, 1824-1892. Manuscript. TSLA Reel #176.
  • [1824-1892] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. vol. 1 FHL 976.8 K29s Index to original Hopewell Presbytery of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church Records, 1824-1892.
  • [1867-1913, 1957-1970] Cumberland Presbyterian Church Records. (McKenzie, Tenn.) 1867-1913, 1957-1970. TSLA Reel #409
  • [1867-1900] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. vol. 2 FHL 976.8 K29s Index to original Cumberland Presbyterian Church Records.
  • [1872-1927, 1954-1972] Zion Cumberland Presbyterian Church Records. McKenzie, 1872-1927, 1954-1972. Manuscript. TSLA Reel #425
  • [1867-1900] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. vol. 2 FHL 976.8 K29s Index to original Zion Cumberland Presbyterian Church Records. McKenzie, 1872-1927, 1954-1972.
  • 1875 - Cumberland Presbyterian Church, McKenzie, Birth Index 1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C530251.[9]
  • 1877-1895 - Zion Cumberland Presbyterian Church, McKenzie, Marriage Index 1877-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batches M530241 and M710171.[9]
  • 1904-1913 - Cumberland Presbyterian Church, McKenzie, Marriage Index 1904-1913 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C530251.[9]
  • [1925-] Huntingdon Church. [8]

Court

DNA

DNA Double Helix.png
DNA has been collected from men claiming descent from the following Carroll County residents. Attempts have not been made to verify the lineages of those tested.
  • [Doss] Multiple descendants of Rev. John Wesley Doss, b. abt 1809 Virginia, resident of Decatur and Carroll counties, Tennessee. Y-DNA 37 and 67 Marker Tests, FTDNA (Kits 40282, 88650). Genetic signature available online (labeled Jw-1 and Jw-2), genealogical description available online through The Doss DNA Project, World Families. Matches have been found.

Family Histories

It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]

General

As of August 2010, a query for persons born in Carroll, Tennessee at World Connect, results in more than 40,000 entries.

  • Carroll County, Tennessee. Paducah, Ky.: Turner Publishing Co. Publisher's description.

Bibliography

  • [Clark] Gilbert, Thomas Graves. Francis Clark of Louisa County, Virginia: and His Descendants in Carroll County, Tennessee: Family Members of Michael Clark of England and Barbados and His Son Francis Clark of Louisa County, Virginia, the Migration of His Sons to Anson County, North Carolina and Descendants to Henry Weakley and Carroll Counties of Tennessee. Baltimore, Md.: Gateway Press, 2004. FHL Book 929.273 C547gt.
  • [Fox] Fox, Ezelle. The Story of William Fox. Dumas, TX: E. Fox, 1954. Available at FHL Fiche 6018326. Digital version available at Heritage Quest Online ($).
  • [Glover] Hopping, Carol (Flora). Glover Family. Book and Film, West Covina, California: C. F. Hopping, 1980?. FHL Book 929.273 G518h; Film 1206423 Item 3.
  • [Glover] Hopping, Carol Flora. The Glover Family, 1806–1984. Manuscript with film, 1985. FHL Book 929.273 G518h 1985 and FHL Film 1321083 Item 12.
  • [Gullett] Futrell, Roger Henry Lofland. George Gullett of Carroll County, Tennessee: and Son James Hickman Gullett of Robertson County, Tennessee. Frankfort, Ky.: R.H. Futrell, 2006. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  • [Hamilton] Hamilton, Thomas. Autobiography of Thomas Hamilton. Typescript, microfilmed 1972. FHL Film 896607 Item 2.
  • [Harris] Lynn, Jack. Harris Family Tree - Carroll County, Tennessee - Ancestors. El Monte, Calif.: Lynn, Jack, 2000?. FHL Book 929.273 H24Lj; Film 1425339 Item 6.
  • [House]  Mills, Betsy. The Descendants of Benjamin House, 1810—1884. Paris, Texas, B.H. Mills. 1994. FHL Book 929.273 H816m; Film 1598359 Item 35.
  • [Johnson] Murphy, Marion Emerson. Early Johnson in Carroll County, Tennessee Their Ancestry and Descendants. [San Diego, Calif.: n.p., 1970]. FHL Book 929.273 J63mu.
  • [Kelly] Ross, John Kelly. Ross/Kelly Family History: A Collection of Information About the Family and Ancestors of My Grandparents Horace E. Ross and Vern Kelly of Carroll County, Tennessee, Texas and Kentucky. Clinton, Ky.: J.K. Ross, 1994. FHL Book 929.273 R733rj; Film 2055193 Item 9.
  • [Killough] Killough, John Allen, Mrs. The Killough Family of America, Canada and Ireland. Typescript, Washington, Ill, Mrs. J. A. Killough, 195?. FHL Fiche 6018443.
  • [Lendermon] Boswell, Imogene May and Jean Boswell Pippenger. The Ancestors and Descendants of Henry D. Lendermon: Randolph County, North Carolina; Greenville County, South Carolina; Maury County, Tennessee; Carroll County, Tennessee; Marshall County, Mississippi. Carrollton, Texas: I.M. Boswell & J.B. Pippenger, 1988. FHL Book 929.273 L546p; Fiche 6100708.
  • [Love] Love, Albert G. Our Ancestors: The Love Family of Trezevant, Carroll County, Tennessee. Washington, D.C.: A.B. Love, 1953. FHL Film 877542 Item 4.
  • [Murphy] Murphy, Marion Emerson. Early Murphys-Murpheys in Pittsylvania County, Virginia, Robertson and Carroll Counties, Tennessee: Their Ancestry and Progeny. San Diego, Calif.: M.E. Murphy, 1974. FHL Book 929.273 M953m.
  • [Patterson] Tayloe, Stephanie Routon and Val Rucker Routon. The Pattersons of Carroll County, Tennessee: from Stories Told by Velma Patterson Rucker. Buchanan, Tenn.: S.R. Tayloe, 199-?. FHL Book 929.273 P277t; Film 1415145 Item 6.
  • [Pearson] Smith, Jonathan K. T. The Descendancy of Shadrach Pearson, 1809–1873. Manuscript on film, Salt Lake City, Utah, Genealogical Society of Utah, 1994. FHL Film 1698059 Item 50.
  • [Pearson] Smith, Jonathan K.T. William Pearson, 1839-1900: (Carroll Co., Tennessee). n.p.: J.K.T. Smith, 2007. FHL Book 921.73 P319s; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  • [Porter] Williams, Blake. Old Porter Relatives. Jackson, Tennessee, B. Williams, 1981. FHL Book 929.273 A1 no. 3069; Film 1033693 Item 12.
  • [Roach] Thomas, William J. Selah Anne Roach Thomas Genealogical Records, 1784–1913. Manuscript, Salt Lake City, Utah, Flimed by the Genealogical Society of Utah 2002. FHL Fiche 6004396.
  • [Ross] Ross, John Kelly. Ross/Kelly Family History: A Collection of Information About the Family and Ancestors of My Grandparents Horace E. Ross and Vern Kelly of Carroll County, Tennessee, Texas and Kentucky. Clinton, Ky.: J.K. Ross, 1994. FHL Book 929.273 R733rj; Film 2055193 Item 9.
  • [Rowland] Rowland, Priscilla Sutton. The Rowland Family History. Noblesville, Indiana, R. A. Rowland, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 R796rp; Film 2055158 Item 23.
  • [Thomas] Thomas, William J. Selah Anne Roach Thomas Genealogical Records, 1784–1913. Manuscript, Salt Lake City, Utah, Flimed by the Genealogical Society of Utah 2002. FHL Fiche 6004396.
  • [Wyatt] Tayloe, Stephanie Routon. The Wyatt Family: of Carroll Co., Tennessee. 2 vols. Buchanan, Tenn.: S.R. Tayloe, 2001-2005. Digital version of Vol. 2 at FamilySearch Books Online; FHL Book 929.273 W97t v. 1-v. 2.

Land

Carroll County Register of Deeds is located at Courthouse,P.O. Box 110, Huntingdon, TN 38344-0110; Telephone: (731) 986-1960 and has Land Records beginning with the county organization from 1822. Land and property records include transfer of real estate or personal property, mortgages, leases, surveys, and entries.

The Family History Library has filmed records of the Carroll County Registrar of:

  • Deeds for Deeds 1822-1936
  • Land Entry Files 1820--1838, 1842-1866
  • Land Surveys 1820-1825,1842-1857.

Law and Legislation

  • Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. [In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service.] The TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. To read more about this valuable resource Click here. The searchable index is available at the TSLA; another version is available at World Vital Records.

Local Histories

  • Smith, H. K. Some Encounters with General Forrest. McKenzie, Tenn.?: unknown, 1959. Available at Heritage Quest Online ($).

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War

The following Carroll County Revolutionary War records are available online through TNGenWeb:

  1. 1835 Pension Roll
  2. 1852 Rejected or Suspended Pensions

Additional resources include:

War of 1812

Civil War

Civil War service men from Carroll County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Carroll County.

Confederate Soldiers

Union Soldiers






Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Carroll County:

Newspapers

Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at the TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Carroll County click on the following cities or towns: 

Occupations

  • Miller, Alan N. West Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1821 to 1889. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2006. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2man. Purchase at Genealogical.com. [Includes Carroll County.]

Periodicals

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers who are new to their area would not likely discover. This type of material may be found in local, regional, or statewide genealogical society journals. The following periodicals cover this county:

Ansearchin' News
Genealogical articles with abstracts of records of Carroll County, Tennessee have been published in Ansearchin' News, the quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. To view a list of these articles, visit their county index. To read digitized versions of the first 36 years of articles (Vols. 1-36), browse their archive or conduct a surname search. The Family History Library has a complete collection of the Ansearchin' News quarterly FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a.
Family Findings
Genealogical articles with abstracts of Carroll County, Tennessee records have been published in Family Findings, the quarterly of the Mid-West Tennessee Genealogical Society (42+ vols.). The Family History Library has most issues of this quarterly FHL US/CAN 976.8 B2f.
Tables of contents for some volumes are available online through the TNGenWeb Project:
Many articles from this publication have been reproduced on the TNGenWeb Project website, try this specialized Google search.
West Tennessee Historical Society Papers
Family History Library has Volumes 1 - 16 and 30 FHL US/CAN Book 976.81 B5w. The West Tennessee Historical Society Papers are indexed in PERiodical Source Index (PERSI)
To view Table of Contents and complete articles from 1947 - 2005 see Shelby County Register of Deeds

Prisons

Learn if your Carroll County, Tennessee ancestors went to prison!

Probate

The County Court and County Probate Judge have responsibility for the probate records of Carroll County.

FamilySearch has placed scans of the following records online in the Tennessee, Probate Court Books, 1795-1927 collection. These are browse-only collections. Handwritten indexes may be found at the front or back of some volumes:

  • Index to wills by deceased name, 1852-1949
  • Wills, 1822-1948 (9 vols.)
  • Index to wills by case, 1852-1949
  • Index to wills by executor name, 1852-1949
  • Index to wills by year, 1852-1949
  • Bonds, 1852-1882
  • Bonds, Letters, 1882-1901
  • Guardian records, 1885
  • Insolvent estate records, 1853-1907
  • Inventories, 1852-1899 (Vols. A-E)
  • Letters, 1852-1880
  • Settlements, 1842-1923 (9 vols.)

The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Carroll County probate records. They offer a research service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:

  1. Will Book A: 1822-1865
  2. Will Book B: 1865-1904

The following Carroll County probate records have been abstracted, indexed, or both:

  • [1830-1861] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Tennessee Wills & Administrations 1779-1861. Nashville, Tenn. Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1990. FHL Book 976.8 P22s. [Includes an index to this county's wills.]
  • [1822-1852] Carroll County Will Books Vol. 1-Sept 1822-Nov 1852. (Mayfield, KY?: Simmons Historical Publications, s.d.). Digital version available at World Vital Records ($).
  • [1852-1862] Carroll County Will Books Vol. 2-Dec 1852-Dec 1862. (Mayfield, KY?: Simmons Historical Publications, s.d.). Digital version available at World Vital Records ($).
  • [1862-1874] Willis, Laura; Betty Sellers, indexer. Carroll County, Tenn., Wills. 5 volumes. Melber, Kentucky: Simmons Historical Pub., 2000. (FHL book 976.825 P2w v. 1-5.)

Taxation

The original Carroll County Tax Books 1848-1850, 1871, 1902 are held at the County Courthouse. In 1976, the TSLA microfilmed these records. FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Film 1008616.

The following Carroll County tax records have been abstracted:[10]

  • [1821-1826] Historical Records Project. Minutes, Tax Records, Etc., 1821-1826, Carroll County, Tennessee. Typescript, Tennessee State Library, Nashville, Tenn. Microfilmed in 1939. FH US/CAN Film 24609 Item 1.
  • [1836] "Carroll County, Tennessee - 1836 Map of Civil Districts" and "Carroll County, Tennessee 1836 Tax List," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 39, No. 1 (Spring 1992):14-20; Vol. 39, No. 2 (Summer 1992):69-74. For FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals.
  • [1848] "1849 Land Sales Held in 3 West Tennessee Counties for Unpaid Taxes," [1848 taxpayers in Decatur, Carroll, and Henderson counties], Ansearchin' News, Vol. 44, No. 4 (Winter 1997):12. For FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals.

Vital Records

See also How to order Tennessee Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriage

Marriages were not officially recorded in Carroll County during the first few years of its existence. In 1838, a law was passed mandating the practice.[11] The following publication, based on early newspapers, helps to alleviate this genealogical obstacle:

  • Lucas, Silas Emmett. Marriages from Early Tennessee Newspapers 1794-1851. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1978. FHL 976.8 V2L.

The following Carroll County Courthouse marriage records have been abstracted and/or indexed:

  • 1838-1895 - Carroll County Marriage Index 1838-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[9]
  • 1838-1873 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Early West Tennessee Marriages. 2 vols. Nashville, Tenn.: B. Sistler & Associates, 1989. FHL 976.8 V2sb v. 1 ff. [Indexes names of brides and grooms, and marriage dates for weddings in this county for the specified years.]
  • 1838-1860 - Historical Records Project Marriage records, 1838-1860, Carroll County, Tennessee Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1939 FHL 24609 item 2
  • 1838-1962 - Carroll County (Tennessee) County Court Clerk Marriages (Carroll County, Tennessee), 1838-1962 Nashville, Tennessee : Tennessee State Library and Archives, [19-]-1988. FHL US/CAN Films 944055-065 and 1928621-627
  • 1860-1880 - Compiled and presented for print by the Carroll County Historical Society Marriages of Carroll County McKenzie, Tennessee : McKenzie Banner Press, 1988. FHL US/CAN Book 976.825 V2c
  • 1864-1950 - Tennessee County Court (Carroll County) Carroll County, Tennessee marriage license files, 1864-1950; indexes, 1864-1950 Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2001-2002. FHL US/CAN Films
  • Tennessee County Marriages, 1790-1950 - covers all counties in Tennessee.
  • Many county marriage records are indexed with images at Ancestry's Tennessee State Marriages, 1780-2002 ($).  Be aware that this index is not complete for all counties.
Divorce

In 1940 and 1941, W.P.A. workers pinpointed the location of Carroll County divorce papers in diverse manuscript collections, see:

  • W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 A3gp.
Death
  • Hays, Tony. West Tennessee Death Records [ca. 1823-1852]. 2 vols. n.p.: Kitchen Table Press, 1987. FHL FAM HIST Book 976.8 V2ht v. 1-2. [Carroll County is included in Vol. 1]

For deaths of Methodists in Carroll County between the 1830s and the 1920s, try:

Carroll County Tennessee Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Carroll County Historical Society For information on the Carroll County Historical Society, please contact the Museum Curator at the Gordon Browning Museum and Genealogical Library at the address mentioned below.
Carroll County Library
625 High St, Ste 102
Huntingdon, TN 38344
1-731-986-1919
Hours:
Mon. - Thurs. 9 a.m.-5:30 p.m.
Fri.-Sat. 9 a.m.-12 p.m.
Genealogical Resources: The Carroll County Library has over 300 books and 300 rolls of microfilm in their Genealogy Room including Family Histories and Newspapers.
Gordon Browning Museum and Genealogical Library
640 N Main St
McKenzie, TN 38201
1-731-352-3510
Hours:
Mon.-Tues., Thurs.-Fri. 9 a.m.-4 p.m.
Genealogical Resources: Tax Records (city and county), Church Records, City Records, Misc Store and Business Records, Deeds, Marriage Records, Probate Records, Newspapers including Carroll County Democrat, McKenzie Banner, Dresden Enterprise, Military Discharges, Court Minutes, Obituaries, etc.
McKenzie Memorial Library
15 N Broadway
McKenzie, TN 38201
1-731-352-5741
E-mail: mcklib@charterinternet.com
Hours:
Mon.-Tues., Thurs.-Fri. 9 a.m.-5 p.m.

West Tennessee Heritage Study Center
Paul Meek Library
University of Tennessee at Martin
1-731-881-7060
Hours vary by semester
The Heritage Study Center holds a variety of genealogical resources including materials relating to the following counties in Tennessee: Benton, Carroll, Chester, Crockett, Decatur, Dyer, Fayette, Gibson, Hardin, Haywood, Henderson, Henry, Houston, Humphreys, Lake, Lauderdale, Madison, McNairy, Obion, Perry, Shelby, Stewart, Tipton, Wayne, Weakley and Carlisle, Fulton, and Hickman counties in Kentucky.
West Tennessee Historical Society
P.O. Box 111046
Memphis, TN 38111
1-901-475-6608
E-mail: efrank@memphis.edu


Family History Centers

Carroll County Tennessee Genealogy Websites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Carroll County, Tennessee

Carroll County Tennessee Genealogy References

  1. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey (W.P.A.), 1941; "Earliest County Records," Tennessee State Library and Archives.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Carroll County, Tennessee page 638, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 638. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
  5. Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
  6. Voice of Gene Black, FamilySearch employee, former resident of Bristol, Tenn. (2010).
  7. Lost Records: Courthouse Fires and Disasters in Tennessee in Tennessee State Library and Archives in Tennessee Secretary of State (accessed 31 March 2014).
  8. 8.0 8.1 8.2 8.3 8.4 8.5 8.6 WPA. referer=brief_results Guide to Church Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville: Tennessee State Planning Commission, 1942. FHL 976.8 K23w
  9. 9.0 9.1 9.2 9.3 9.4 9.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/6/60/Igitennesseea.pdf.
  10. The Heritage Quest Online version of PERSI aided in the compilation of this list.
  11. Gale Williams Bamman, C.G., "Research in Tennessee," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 81, No. 2 (June 1993):105. FHL 973 B2ng v. 81



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:18.
  • This page has been accessed 47,737 times.