Carroll County, VirginiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Virginia
Carroll County
Guide to Carroll County Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
| Carroll County, Virginia | |
| Map | |
| | |
![]() Location in the state of Virginia | |
![]() Location of Virginia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | 1842 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Hillsville |
| Courthouse | |
Southwest Virginia county.
Carroll County Virginia Courthouse
Carroll County, Virginia
P O Box 218
Hillsville, Virginia 24343-0515
540-728-3117
Clerk Circuit Court has birth records 1842-1896,
marriage, divorce, probate and land records from 1842[1]
| | |||||
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1855 | 1843 | 1854 | 1850 | 1842 | 1842 |
Carroll County Virginia History
The county is named after Charles Carroll (1737-1832), a signer of the Declaration of Independence.[2]
Parent County
1842--Carroll County was created 17 January 1842 from Grayson and Patrick Counties.
County seat: Hillsville [3]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
- Lost census: 1890
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Carroll County Virginia Genealogy Resources
Research Guides
- "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Carroll County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 7, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1963):33-35. Available at FHL; digital version at New England Ancestors ($).
African American
- Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872
- Kegley, Mary B. Free People of Colour: Free Negroes, Indians, Portuguese and Freed Slaves. Wytheville, Virginia: Kegley Books, 2003. Available at FHL; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online. [Includes information from Carroll County.]
Bible Records
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
- Virginia Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007 - browse collection at FamilySearch; free.
Additional Bible records include:
Cemeteries
For a detailed list, including addresses, phone numbers, and external links, see Carroll County, Virginia Cemeteries.
The following is a list of cemeteries in Carroll County:[4]
|
|
|
- Tombstone Trnascription Project Carroll County - cemetery transcriptions - USGenWeb
Census
For tips on accessing Carroll County, Virginia census records online, see: Virginia Census.
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1850 | 5,909 | ||
| 1860 | 8,012 | 35.6% | |
| 1870 | 9,147 | 14.2% | |
| 1880 | 13,323 | 45.7% | |
| 1890 | 15,497 | 16.3% | |
| 1900 | 19,303 | 24.6% | |
| 1910 | 21,116 | 9.4% | |
| 1920 | 21,283 | 0.8% | |
| 1930 | 22,141 | 4.0% | |
| 1940 | 25,904 | 17.0% | |
| 1950 | 26,695 | 3.1% | |
| 1960 | 23,178 | −13.2% | |
| 1970 | 23,092 | −0.4% | |
| 1980 | 27,270 | 18.1% | |
| 1990 | 26,594 | −2.5% | |
| 2000 | 29,245 | 10.0% | |
1890 Union Veterans
- Turner, Ronald Ray. Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890. Available online, courtesy: Prince William County Virginia website. [Includes residents of this county.]
Church Records
Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):
- Goodspur Monthly Meeting (1790-1800) aka Dugspur[5]
- Road Creek Monthly Meeting (1802-1810)[5]
- Ward's Gap Monthly Meeting, Hillsville, Va. (1795-1825)[5]
Court Records
Genealogy
See Carroll County, Virginia Genealogy
Land and Property
Local Histories
- Alderman, John Perry. Carroll 1765-1815, the Settlements: A History of the First Fifty Years of Carroll County, Virginia. n.p.: Central Va. Newspapers, 1985. Available at FHL.
Maps
Military Records and History
Revolutionary War
- Kegley, Mary B. Revolutionary War Pension Applications of Southwest Virginia Soldiers. n.p.: M.B. Kegley, 1997. FHL Collection [Includes Carroll County pensioners.]
War of 1812
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Carroll County, p. 67.]
Civil War
Regiments. Service men in Carroll County, Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Carroll County, Virginia:
- - 4th Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Company D.[6]
- - 22nd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Bowen's Virginia Mounted Riflemen) (Confederate). Company G.
- - 24th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company C (Carroll Boys).[7]
- - 25th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company F.[8]
- - 29th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company C (Carroll Marksmen), Company D (Rifle Rangers), and Company E.[9]
- - 30th Battalion, Virginia Sharpshooters (Clarke's) (Confederate). Company E.[10]
- - 37th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Dunn's Battalion, Partisan Rangers) (Confederate). Company D and Company I.[11]
- - 45th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company E (Rough and Readys) and Company I (Reed Island Rifles).[12]
- - 47th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company C.[13]
- - 50th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company I.[14]
- - 54th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company G.[15]
- - 63rd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (McMahon's) (Confederate). Company G.[16]
Records and histories are available, including:
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers 1861-1865
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers 1861-1865
Naturalization and Citizenship
Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929
Newspapers
The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Carroll County, Virginia newspapers.
Probate Records
Taxation
Vital Records
Indexes to Carroll County, Virginia births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
Birth
Marriage
- 1740-1850 - Virginia Marriages 1740-1850 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1854-1913 - Carroll County Marriage Index 1854-1913. Batch M868734 at FamilySearch - free.[17]
Death
- 1853-1870 - Carroll County Death Index 1853-1870. Batch B868734 at FamilySearch - free.[17]
- 1855-1896 - Carroll County Deaths (VAGenWeb)
Vital Record Substitutes
| For birth, marriage, and death record substitutes, see Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records. |
Carroll County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Carroll County Virginia Genealogy Websites
- www.vagenweb.org/carroll/ Carroll County, Virginia USGENWEB
- Family History Library Catalog
- Cyndi's List
Carroll County Virginia Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Carroll County, Virginia. Page 711 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia Contributors, "Charles Carroll of Carrollton," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charles_Carroll_of_Carrollton, accessed 13 January 2012.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ [hhttp://www.topozone.com/states/Virginia.asp?county=Carroll&feature=Cemetery USGS Map], Topozone.com
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
- ↑ The Virginia State Line: Organizational Structure of the Virginia State Line, Ranger95.com, accessed 11 June 2012.
- ↑ Ralph White Gunn, 24th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 34.
- ↑ Dobbie E. Lambert, 25th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 106.
- ↑ John Perry Alderman, 29th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 53.
- ↑ Michael West, 30th Battalion Virginia Sharpshooters (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1995). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 108.
- ↑ J.L. Scott, 36th and 37th Battalions Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 24.
- ↑ J.L. Scott, 45th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 58.
- ↑ Richard L. Armstrong, 26th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 110.
- ↑ John C. Chapla, 50th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 129.
- ↑ George L. Sherwood and Jeffrey C. Weaver, 54th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1993). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 91.
- ↑ Jeffrey C. Weaver, 63rd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1991). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 76.
- ↑ 17.0 17.1 17.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 3 May 2013, at 20:48.
- This page has been accessed 6,445 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



