Carter County, TennesseeEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Tennessee
Carter County
Carter County, Tennessee genealogy and family history research page. Guide to Carter County (established 1796) genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
| Carter County, Tennessee | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Tennessee in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | April 9, 1796 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Elizabethton |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Carter County Courthouse] 801 E Elk Avenue Elizabethton, TN 37643 Phone: 423.542.1814 Carter County Website |
Carter County Tennessee Quick Dates
Carter County's civil records start the following years:[1]
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1908 | 1790 | 1908 | 1830 | 1796 | 1794 |
Carter County Tennessee Courthouse
Carter County Courthouse
801 E Elk Avenue
Elizabethton, TN 37643
Phone: 423.542.1814
County Clerk has probate records from 1800.
Chancery and Circuit Court has divorce and court records.
Register of Deeds has land record. [2]
801 East Elk Ave.
Elizabethton, TN 37643
Phone: 1-423-542-1801
Carter County Clerk
Marriage and Probate records
801 E. Elk Ave.
Elizabethton, TN 37643
Phone: 1-423-542-1814
Carter County Register of Deeds
Land records
801 E. Elk Ave.
Elizabethon, TN 37643
Phone: 1-423-542-1830
Carter County Clerk of Circuit Court
Court records
Carter County Justice Center
924 E. Elk Ave.
Elizabethon, TN 37643
Phone: 1-423-542-1835
Hours: Mon.-Fri.8 a.m.-4:30 p.m.
Carter County Tennessee History
The county is named after Landon Carter (1710-1778), Speaker of the State of Franklin senate.[3]
The land of Carter County was first organized by the State of Franklin in March 1786 from part of Washington County under the name Wayne (old) County.[4] Wayne seems to have included at least the present area of Carter and Johnson Counties. However, the Franklin statehood effort collapsed by 1789. Wayne (old) County existed only briefly, its legality is questionable, and little trace remains. It was not recognized by the subsequent North Carolina, Southwest Territory, or Tennessee governments.
In 1796 the first county reconstituted by the new State of Tennessee was Franklin's Wayne (old) County, only it was called Carter County.[5]Now the land on which the lost county of Wayne (old) County was located is known as Carter County and Johnson County.[6]
East Tennessee county established in 1796. Originally part of the pioneer Watauga Settlements, from 1785 to 1789, this land was also claimed by the abortive, short-lived State of Franklin.[7]
Parent County
1796--Carter County was created 9 April 1796 from Washington County.
County seat: Elizabethton[8]
County Pronunciation
- Hear it spoken[9] (female)
- Hear it spoken [10] (male)
Boundary Changes
"Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed for free at the My Tennessee Genealogy website. They rely on AniMap 3.0 software.
Record Loss
1933-- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
- Lost censuses: 1800, 1810, 1820, 1890
- Many early wills have been lost
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
- Burned Counties Research in FamilySearch Wiki
- Michael John Neill, Burned Counties in Family History Circle
- When the Records are Gone in Arlene Eakle's Tennessee Genealogy Blog
Carter County Tennessee Places / Localities
Populated Places
| Backwoods | Cove Creek | Housley | Roan Mountain |
| Bear Stand | Crabtree | Hunter | Sadie |
| Big Spring | Dogtown | Johnson City | Shell Creek |
| Biltmore | East Side | Keenburg | Siam |
| Bitter End | Elizabethton | Laurel Fork | Tiger Valley |
| Blevins | Elk Mills | Little Milligan | Tolley Town |
| Blue Spring | Evergreen | Oak Grove | Upper Shell Creek |
| Braemar | Fairview | Okolona | Valley Forge |
| Buladeen | Farmer Mill | Pierce | Watauga |
| Burbank | Fish Springs | Pine Crest | Watauga Point |
| Carter | Gap Creek | Piney Grove | White Rock |
| Cedar Grove | Green Pine | Poga | Whitehead Hill |
| Central | Hampton | Range | Wilbur |
| Clarketown | Hopson | Rayon Terrace | |
| College Park | Horseshoe | Riovista |
Neighboring Counties
Carter County Tennessee Genealogy Resources
Getting Started
Use the free Search for Surnames at Mountain Press's website to quickly search a variety of published Carter County biography, cemetery, church, court, probate, and tax records. To determine which books are being searched, or to search each publication's index individually, click here. You are now equipped with a checklist of books to pull off the shelves at a genealogy library, or a wish list for your personal book collection.
Research Guides
- Genealogical "Fact Sheets" About Tennessee Counties: Carter County, courtesy: TSLA. (Identifies published county histories, published local records, census records, newspapers and local records on microfilm, and select manuscripts.)
African American
United States African Americans
Tennessee African Americans
Cemeteries
Tennessee cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.
The Tennessee Cemeteries page provides explanations of the following online resources:
| Bibliographies | Online Gravestone Transcriptions | Cemetery Gazetteers |
| FHLC | Find A Grave | national search | county list | ePodunk |
| WorldCat | Carter Co., TNGenWeb Project | |
| USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project |
Published Carter County cemetery records:
Census
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1800 | 4,813 | — |
| 1810 | 4,190 | −12.9% |
| 1820 | 4,835 | 15.4% |
| 1830 | 6,414 | 32.7% |
| 1840 | 5,372 | −16.2% |
| 1850 | 6,296 | 17.2% |
| 1860 | 7,124 | 13.2% |
| 1870 | 7,909 | 11.0% |
| 1880 | 10,019 | 26.7% |
| 1890 | 13,389 | 33.6% |
| 1900 | 16,688 | 24.6% |
| 1910 | 19,838 | 18.9% |
| 1920 | 21,488 | 8.3% |
| 1930 | 29,223 | 36.0% |
| 1940 | 35,127 | 20.2% |
| 1950 | 42,432 | 20.8% |
| 1960 | 41,578 | −2.0% |
| 1970 | 42,575 | 2.4% |
| 1980 | 50,205 | 17.9% |
| 1990 | 51,505 | 2.6% |
| 2000 | 56,742 | 10.2% |
| Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. | ||
See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
See Carter County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files. [The USGenWeb Census Project®]
1800 - Lost, but a substitute is available, see Taxation.
1810 - Lost, but a substitute is available:
- Sherrill, Charles A. The Reconstructed 1810 Census of Tennessee: 33,000 Long-lost Records from Tax Lists, Court Minutes, Church Records, Wills, Deeds and Other Sources. Mt. Juliet, Tenn.: C.A. Sherrill, 2001. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1810.
1820 - Lost[11]
1820 Manufactures
The original manufactures schedules for the Eastern and Western Districts of Tennessee are kept at the National Archives, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Films 1024517-1024518.
These records have also been abstracted:
- National Archives. Indexes to Manufactures Census of 1820. 1920; reprint, Knightstown, Ind.: Bookmark, 1977. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2m 1820.
- 1820 Census of Manufactures: Carter County, East Tennessee Roots, Vol. 7, No. 3 ():114. For availability, see Periodicals.
1830
- Sistler, Byron H. 1830 Census, East Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: n.p., 1969. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2p 1830.
1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; FHL US/CAN Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google books et. al. [See Tennessee, Eastern District, Carter County on page 152.]
1850
- Bishop, Brenda C. 1850 Census, Carter County, Tennessee. Elizabethton, Tenn.: B.C. Bishop, 1988. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8984 X2bb 1850.
1860
- Bishop, Brenda C. 1860 Census, Tennessee, Carter County Transcription. Elizabethton, Tenn.: B.C. Bishop, 1985. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8984 X2ct.
1880
- Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. 1880 Census - Tennessee: Transcription for Carter County. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 198-?. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8984 X2s 1880.
1890 - Lost, but substitutes are available:
- Reed, Sue S. Enumeration of Male Inhabitants of Twenty-one Years of Age and Upward, Citizens of Tennessee, January 1, 1891, as Provided for by an Act of General Assembly of Tennessee, Passed January 15, 1891, and Approved January 22, 1891. 8 vols. Houston, Texas: S.S. Reed, 1989. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2r v. 7 1891. [Carter County is included in Vol. 7.]
- Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1890 Civil War Veterans Census, Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: Byron Sister and Associates, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1890.
Church
Church records include baptisms, marriages and burials, as well as information about family members and clues about family migration. For additional information about church records, religions, and religious archives in Tennessee, see Tennessee Church Records.
- Carter County Church Records
- - Family History Library Catalog - Carter County Church Records
- If the records you need are not through the Family History Library, contact the church(es) in the area where your ancestor lived. Two sites that give information about churches in Bedford County are:
- - List of Carter County churches with addresses and phone numbers (Yellowbook)
- - List of Carter County churches (TN HomeTownLocator)
- In 1936, a helpful guide to early Carter County church records was published by the Works Project Administration. [12]Use this guide to locate which church records exist and where they were housed in 1936. The Tennessee State Library and Archives has filmed some of these records. To locate which records are available at the TSLA, go to the appropriate "county fact sheet" on the TSLA Web site and scroll down to "selected manuscript material". All filmed church records at the TSLA for Carter county are listed.
Court
Genealogy
More than 30 genealogies have been published about Carter County, Tennessee families. To view a list, visit Carter County, Tennessee Genealogy.
Gordon Aronhime (1911-1983) collected information on hundreds of Southwest Virginia and East Tennessee pioneers. His note cards, which reference more than 4,000 early settlers of the Holston-Clinch River area and East Tennessee (1770s-1790s), are held at the Library of Virginia. The cards have been digitized and made available online.[13]
Immigration
During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding a total of 3 British aliens, some of whom had families, living in Carter County.[14]
Land
Deeds
The original Carter County Deed Books are held at the County Courthouse. In the 1970s, the TSLA microfilmed Deed Books A to T (1796-1884), indexes, and Trust Deed Book 1874-1892. Copies of their microfilms are also available at the Family History Library: FHL US/CAN Films 847620-847627, 464080 Item 2, 1011383.
The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Carter County land records. They offer a research service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:
- McIver, Mary. Abstracts of Carter County, Tennessee Deeds, 1796-1825. Privately published, 1985. LC 84-90648
Local Land Entries Issued by North Carolina
The original Carter County land entries issued by North Carolina are kept at the North Carolina State Archives in Raleigh. On their website, users can bring up a list of land entries issued in Carter County, both before and after it became a part of the state of Tennessee. Years covered: 1801-1820.
Instructions:
- Follow this link to conduct a "Call Number Search" using the MARS Catalog on their site.
- Using the pull down window, change "Call Numbers starting" to "A MarsID matching."
- Type 12.14.1 (Windows Vista users may need to include a period after the last digit, for example 12.14.1.) and click Search. This is the specific MarsID for Carter County.
- Click on the entry that is returned: "Tennessee, Carter County."
- In the window that pops up, click Show List of Child Records and a list of Carter County land entries will be produced. Browse to find abstracts of the original records.[15]
N.B. You can also search by name through the Basic Search, but it lacks soundex capabilities.
Law and Legislation
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. [In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service.] The TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. To read more about this valuable resource Click here. The searchable index is available at the TSLA; another version is available at World Vital Records.
Local Histories
- Carter County History Book Committee. Carter County, Tennessee, and its People, 1796–1993. Elizabethton TN: Carter County Book Committee [PO Box 176, Elizabethton, TN], 1993. LC 93-60910
- Co-operative Town Company of Tennessee. The New Co-Operative Town of Tennessee. Knoxville, Tennessee, 1890. Free digital copy.
- Depew, Michael and Lanette. Images of America. Elizabethton [Tennessee]. Charleston SC: Arcadia Pub., 2004. [A pictorial history of Elizabethton, Tennessee]
- Nave, Robert T. A History of the Iron Industry in Carter County to 1860. Privately published [RT Nave, 509 Woodhaven Dr., Johnson City, TN 37604], 1998. [also includes iron works in now Johnson County]
- Turner, Francis Marion. Life of General John Sevier New York: The Neale Publishing Co., 1910. Free digital copy.
Maps
- [1796] Reeves, Charles A. Carter County [Tennessee] - Created April 1796 from Washington County. Published 2000. Purchase at ReevesMaps.com; website includes a scaled-down version of the map.
Military
Revolutionary War
The following Carter County Revolutionary War records are available online through TNGenWeb:
Additional resources include:
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; FHL US/CAN Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google books et. al. [See Tennessee, Eastern District, Carter County on page 152.]
- "Carter County Tennessee -- Pensioners 1835," available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb.
- Census of Pensioners, 1840, Eastern District (sel.), Sullivan County Genealogical Society Journal, Vol. 8, No. 1 (Spring 2004).
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." Digital version at Ancestry ($). Tennessee entries abstracted online at Tennesseans in the Revolutionary War, courtesy: TNGenWeb. [Includes veterans from this county; Tennessee section begins on page 381.]
- Rejected or Suspended Rev. War Pensions, June 7, 1832, Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin, Vol. 36, No. 1 (2007).
- Watauga Story, Daughters of the American Revolution Magazine, Vol. 108, No. 2 (Feb. 1974).
War of 1812
- Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 7, No. 1 (Jan. 1960):13-16; Vol. 7, No. 2 (Apr. 1960):40-45. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 7 (1960); digital version at journal website. [Includes Carter County pensioners 7(1):16, 7(2):40.]
Civil War
Civil War service men from Carter County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Carter County.
Confederate Soldiers
- 1st Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Carter's) - CSA - Company M.
- 59th Regiment, Tennessee Mounted Infantry (Cooke's) (Eakin's 1st Battalion) - CSA - Company C.
Union Soldiers
- 8th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry - Companies E and F.
- 13th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry - Companies A, B, C, G, H, L and M.
Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Carter County:
- History of the Thirteenth Regiment, Tennessee Volunteer Cavalry, U. S. A ... By Samuel W. Scott and Samuel P Angel, has information, including some biographies of Carter County people. Available at FHL; digital version on Google Books or Internet Archive.
- USGenWeb Archives, Carter County Tennessee Archives, (accessed 30 Jan 2012). Civil War Records.
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Tennessee Confederate Pension Applications : Carter County, (accessed 30 Jan 2012). Includes soldier's name, county, pension #, unit or widow.
- United States Pension Bureau, List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883: Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for ... (Washington Printing Office; 1883), (accessed 30 Jan 2012). Online at Internet Archive. Carter County, page 323-324.
Newspapers
Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at the TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Carter County click on the following city:
Occupations
Miller, Alan N. East Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1778 to 1911. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2000. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2m. Digital version at World Vital Records ($). Purchase at Genealogical.com. [Includes Carter County.]
Periodicals
Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers who are new to their area would not likely discover. This type of material may be found in local, regional, or statewide genealogical society journals. The following periodicals cover this county:
- Ansearchin' News
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of records of Carter County, Tennessee have been published in Ansearchin' News, the quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. To view a list of these articles, visit their county index. To read digitized versions of the first 36 years of articles (Vols. 1-36), browse their archive or conduct a surname search. The Family History Library has a complete collection of the Ansearchin' News quarterly FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a.
- East Tennessee Roots
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of Carter County, Tennessee records have been published in East Tennessee Roots (10 vols.). A subject index to these articles is available online. Surname indexes to Volumes 9 and 10 are also available online. The Family History Library has collected most issues of East Tennessee Roots FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 D25e.
- Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of Carter County, Tennessee records have been published in the Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin (39+ vols., 1972-present), the journal of the Watauga Association of Genealogists. The organization has posted tables of contents for most volumes on their website. Back issues are available for purchase.The Family History Library has a complete collection FHL US/CAN Books 976.897 B2w, including Margaret W. Hougland and Betty Jane Hylton's Bulletin Subject Index: The First Thirty Years, 1972-2001 (Johnson City, Tenn.: Watauga Association of Genealogists, 2002) FHL US/CAN Book 976.897 B2w index 1972-2001.
Indexed in the PERiodical Source Index (PERSI).
Prisons
Learn if your Carter County, Tennessee ancestors went to prison!
- Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1831-1850, free index available online through TSLA.
- Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1851-1870, free index available online through TSLA.
Probate
Loose probate files exist at the Carter County Courthouse covering the years 1796 to 1915. They were microfilmed by GSU in 1999: FHL Films 2117645-2117646, 2117648.
FamilySearch has placed scans of the following records online in the Tennessee, Probate Court Books, 1795-1927 collection. These are browse-only collections. Handwritten indexes may be found at the front or back of some volumes:
- Index to wills, 1796-1915
- Wills, 1794-1937 (3 vols.)
- Inventories, 1839-1918
- Settlements, 1879-1957 (5 vols.)
- Bonds, Letters, 1865-1970 (7 vols.)
The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Carter County probate records. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:
The following Carter County probate records have been abstracted and/or indexed:
- [1794-1861] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Tennessee Wills & Administrations 1779-1861. Nashville, Tenn. Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1990. FHL US/CAN 976.8 P22s. [Includes an index to this county's probate records.] Free Lookups Available!
Taxation
TSLA microfilmed the original Carter County Tax Books 1860-1880 (gaps) in 1971. FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Film 1011384.
The following Carter County tax records have been abstracted:[16]
- [1796] Taxpayers, 1796, East Tennessee Historical Society Publications. Knoxville TN: 1958. Vol. - Iss. 30.
- [1796] Creekmore, Pollyanna. Early East Tennessee Taxpayers. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1980. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4cp and Silas Emmett Lucas's Revised Index FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4cp index. [Includes 1796 tax list.]
- [1796, 1798] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Early Tennessee Tax Lists. Evanston, Ill.: B. & B. Sistler, 1977. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4s. [Includes 1796 and 1798 tax lists.]
- [1796, 1798] Curtis, Mary Barnett. Early East Tennessee Tax Lists. Fort Worth, Texas: Arrow Printing Company, 1964. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4c. [Includes 1796 and 1798 tax lists.]
- [1798] 1798 Tax List, Carter County, East Tennessee Roots, Vol. 9, No. 4. For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals. [Includes digital images of the original source.]
- [1799] Tax List, 1799, Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin. Johnson City TN: Summer 1972. Vol. 1 Iss. 2.
- [1834] Tax List, 1834, Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin. Johnson City TN: 1979. Vol. 8 Iss. 1-2; 2000. Vol. 29 Iss. 2; 2001. Vol. 30 Iss. 1.
- [1836] Douthat, James L. Carter County, Tennessee, 1836 Tennessee, Civil Districts and Tax Lists. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 1993. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8984 R4d; online: free surname index and purchase details.
- [1874-1877] Nathaniel Edens Hyder Tax Collection Journal Excerpts, 1874-1877, Distr. 1-4, Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin. Johnson City TN: 2007. Vol. 36 Iss. 1.
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Carter County marriage records. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:
The following Carter County marriage records have been abstracted and/or indexed:
- 1790-1885 - Carter County Marriage Index 1790-1885 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[17]
- 1796-1825 - Raymond, Brenda Jordan. "Carter County, TN - VITALS - Marriages, 1796 - 1825," available online, courtesy: USGenWeb Archives.
- 1796-1876 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Early East Tennessee Marriages. 2 vols. Nashville, Tenn.: Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1987. FHL US/CAN 976.8 V2s v. 1. [Indexes names of brides and grooms, and marriage dates for weddings in this county for the specified years.] Free Lookups Available!
Divorce
In 1940 and 1941, W.P.A. workers pinpointed the location of Carter County divorce papers in diverse manuscript collections, see:
- W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 A3gp.
Deaths
- Nikazy, Eddie M. Abstracts of Tennessee Death Records for Carter County, Tennessee, 1908-1925. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, 1992. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8984 V4ne.
- Nikazy, Eddie M. Carter County, Tennessee Death, Record Abstracts, 1926-1934. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, 1994. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8984 V4n.
For deaths of Methodists in Carter County between the 1830s and the 1920s, try:
- Smith, Jonathan K.T. Genealogical Abstracts from Reported Deaths, the Nashville Christian Advocate. [1847-1914] 10 vols. [Jackson, Tenn.]: J.K.T. Smith, 1997-2003. FHL US/CAN Books 976.855/N1 V48s 1847-1851 ff; digital versions at David Donahue Memorial: Tennessee Records Repository. [Website expands upon the publications and includes deaths from the 1830s, 1840s, 1910s and 1920s.]
Carter County Tennessee Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Elizabethton/Carter County Public Library
201 N. Sycamore St.
Elizabethton, TN 37643
Phone: 1-423-547-6360
Fax: 1-423-542-1510
Hours: Mon. and Thurs. 10 a.m.-8 p.m.
Tues., Wed.and Fri. 10 a.m.-6 p.m.
Sat. 10 a.m.-4 p.m.
Includes the Paty-McCellan-Dungan Archives Room which includes census records, city directories, county records, local history books. Volunteers are available to assist with research on the first Thursday night of each month from 6:30 p.m.-8 p.m.
Charles C. Sherrod Library, East Tennessee State University
P.O. Box 70665
Johnson City, TN 37614
Phone: Information desk 1-423-439-4307
Hours vary depending on the time of year because of school sessions. See website for hours.
The Sherrod Library has genealogical information concerning the East Tennessee Region.
East Tennessee Historical Society
601 S. Gay St.
P.O. Box 1629
Knoxville, TN 37901-1629
Phone: 1-865-215-8824
E-mail: eths@east-tennessee-history.org
Archives of Appalachia
East Tennessee State University
Sherrod Library, 4th floor
P.O. Box 70295
Johnson City, TN 37614
Phone: 1-423-439-4338
Hours: 9:00 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Mon-Fri. ETSU school holidays are observed.
The Archives of Appalachia is a keeper of memories. Collect, preserve, and share the written words, sounds, and images of the people of Appalachia. House nearly 18 million manuscripts, 56,000 sound recordings, and 250,000 still and moving images.
Carter County Tennessee Genealogy Websites
- Carter County, TN Family History and Genealogy Message Board (Ancestry)
- Carter County, TN Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Carter County, TN Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
- Carter County, TNGenWeb (USGenWeb)
- Carter County, TN History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (MyTennesseeGenealogy)
- Family History Library Catalog (FamilySearch)
- Mailing List: TNCARTER-L (Carter County, Tennessee List) (RootsWeb)
- Mailing List: ETN-L (East Tennessee List) (RootsWeb)
- Mailing List: ETN-OZ-L (East Tennessee Migrants to Ozarks Region List) (RootsWeb)
- Mailing List: FRANKLIN-STATE-L (State of Franklin 1784-1788 List) (RootsWeb)
- Mailing List: UPPEREASTTN-L (Upper East Tennessee List) (RootsWeb)
Carter County Tennessee Genealogy References
- ↑ Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey (W.P.A.), 1941; "Earliest County Records," Tennessee State Library and Archives.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Carter County, Tennessee page 638, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
- ↑ “State of Franklin” in The Tennessee Encyclopedia of History and Culture at http://tennesseeencyclopedia.net/imagegallery.php?EntryID=F061 (accessed 27 June 2010).
- ↑ Robert M. McBride, "Lost Counties of Tennessee," East Tennessee Historical Society's Publications 38 (1966): 5-6.
- ↑ Iamvered (Wikipedia User), The Eight Counties of the State of Franklin, circa 1786 at http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:8FranklinCounties.png (accessed 27 June 2010).
- ↑ J. Mark Lowe, "The Land Grant Processes of North Carolina and Tennessee," Lecture, Federation of Genealogical Societies Conference, Knoxville, Tenn., August 21, 2010.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 638. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
- ↑ Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
- ↑ Voice of Betty Jane Hylton, County Co-coordinator, Washington County, Tennessee TNGenWeb; Editor, Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin (2010).
- ↑ Mary Barnett Curtis, Early East Tennessee Tax Lists: a compiled list of residents of the area covered in 22 east Tennessee counties for which there is (sic) no census records prior to 1830 (Fort Worth, Texas: Arrow Printing, 1964) [FHL Book 976.8 R4c].
- ↑ WPA. Guide to Church Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville: Tennessee State Planning Commission, 1942. FHL 976.8 K23w
- ↑ "Original Virginia Records Imaged and Indexed Online," Arlene Eakle's Virginia Genealogy Blog, 12 October 2008.
- ↑ Kenneth Scott. British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1979, 372-378 (see East Tennessee). FHL US/CAN 973 W4s; digital version at Ancestry ($).
- ↑ J. Mark Lowe, "The Land Grant Processes of North Carolina and Tennessee," Lecture, Federation of Genealogical Societies Conference, Knoxville, Tenn., August 21, 2010.
- ↑ The Heritage Quest Online version of PERSI aided in the compilation of this list.
- ↑ 17.0 17.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/6/60/Igitennesseea.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 7 May 2013, at 22:35.
- This page has been accessed 8,721 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


