Cartersville Georgia Family History CenterEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

FamilySearch This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.

The Cartersville, Georgia Family History Center serves the Bartow County and Northwest Georgia area. We are located in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains, about 45 miles directly north of Atlanta off I-75, exit 296. Bartow County (originally Cass County) is noted for its rich Cherokee and Creek Indian and Civil War history. 

Gold+Domed+Courthouse+with+Statue.jpg
Bartow County's courthouse with clock tower and gold dome was built in 1903. Photo used with permission from SeeMidTn.com. 
History of Bartow County and Historical County Maps

Contents

Center Location

870 Peeples Valley Road, NE, Cartersville, GA 30121


Check our Facebook page for updates.


Contact, Directions & Map

Address:

  • 870 Peeples Valley Rd NE  Cartersville, GA  30121-5037  United States
  • Phone: 770-386-0423
  • Director Phone: 678-451-4099
  • E-mail: CartersvilleGaFHC@hotmail.com

Hours

Open Hours:

Tuesday: 9 am - 12 noon
Wednesday: 9 am - 12 noon
Thursday: 9 am - 12 noon
Friday: 9 am - 12 noon
Saturday: 9 am - 12 noon
Sunday After 2 pm by appointment only

Holiday Schedule:

  • Closed Thanksgiving Week
  • Closed for Christmas Dec 21-Jan 1   Re-open January 7th

Research Specialty

Families who filed 1906 Eastern Cherokee Applications

Center Resources

  • FamilySearch Catalog: This center has the ability to order any of the films and fiche available through the FamilySearch Catalog.
  • FHC Portal This center has access to the Family History Center Portal page which gives free access in the center to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
  • Youth Family History Consultants are especially helpful for those who would like computer assistance while researching. Please call ahead to make an appointment to work with a Youth Consultant.

Center Equipment

  • 6 computer stations
  • 1 microfilm reader
  • Multi-function printer with scanner

Copy Fees

Black and white 8 1/2 x 11: U.S. $.05
Black and white 11 x 17: U.S. $.10 (if available)
Color 8 1/2 x 11: U.S. $.30 (if available)
Color 11 x 17: U.S. $.60 (if available)

NOTE: Please observe copyright law when making copies of book pages, images, etc.

Links to Local Genealogy and Historical Sites

Volunteer Opportunities

We always welcome non-member volunteers who are genealogy and family history saavy and interested in helping in our center.

Workshops

Quarterly "How To" workshops will begin February 2014. The classes will be FREE and open to the public. Space is limited to 50 people, so attendance will be on a first-come basis. Please call or email the center to reserve a seat.

Saturday, February 15, 2014

10:00 a.m.–12:00 Noon

Become a Super Hero and Save Your Family Story!

This workshop will teach attendees how to analyze census records by examining a case study.

Suggestions Before Visiting Our Center

  • Call ahead to confirm Center hours.
  • Save on copy costs; bring a flash drive to save documents you find.
  • Decide on one goal you want to accomplish during your research trip.
  • Bring paper and pen for note-taking, family files, laptop, or other electronic device where your family information is stored.
  • Plan to stay awhile and visit the area. It's chock-full of history and beautiful scenery.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:10.
  • This page has been accessed 9,166 times.