Cartmel, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Cartmel, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. See also Cartmel Fell, a chapel of ease serving the Winster Valley in Cartmel Parish. For researchers, see a comprehensive List of Chapelries in Cartmel Parish.

Cartmel, Lancashire
Cartmel Priory Lancashire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Ulverston PLU
Registration District Ulverstone
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1664
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Furness and Cartmel
Diocese Chester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CARTMEL (St. Mary), a parish and market town in the union of Ulverston, hundred of Lonsdale north of the Sands, N. division of the county of Lancaster. Other places in the parish include: Lower Holker, Lower Allithwaite, Newton in Cartmel, Upper Allithwaite, Upper Holker, and East Plain.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/


Church records

Lake+District+Cartmel+Priory.JPG
Online Records

Cartmel parish registers and those registers of all of its smaller chapelries lying within its boundaries have been partially transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS =FamilySearch.org
LOPC=Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP=FindMyPast.co.uk
LBMD =LancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG =FreeReg
MOCO = Mocavo.com
CARTMEL ST MARY AND ST MICHAEL PARISH (1558) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1559-1724, 1832-1882 1559-1723, 1832-1880 1832-1882
LOPC 1832-1870 1832-1869 1832-1869
LBMD None None None
FMP None 1559-1837 None
AC 1559-1661 1559-1661 1559-1661
FREG 1558-1661 1559-1648 1622-1659(part.)
ALLITHWAITE ST MARY Chapelry (1865) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None None None
CARTMEL-FELL ST ANTHONY Chapelry (1857) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1857-1882 1860-1865 1857-1883
LOPC None None None
LBMD None None None
GRANGE ST PAUL Chapelry (1857) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1857-1895 1858-1901 None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None None None
FIELD-BROUGHTON (EAST BROUGHTON) ST PETER Chapelry (1859) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1859-1885 None 1859-1885
LOPC None None None
LBMD None None None
FLOOKBURGH ST JOHN THE BAPTIST Chapelry (1859) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1859-1869 None None
LOPC 1859-1869 None None
LBMD None None None
HAVERSTHWAITE Chapelry (1832) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None None None
LINDALE ST PAUL Chapelry (1754) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None None None
STAVELEY ST MARY Chapelry (1857) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1857-1873 None 1857-1873
LOPC None None None
LBMD None None None

Original Registers

The original parish registers for St Mary's and most of its attached chapelries and their respective church registers are available through either Cumbria Record Office, County Offices, Kendal (LA9 4RQ), or copies of the originals are also available through the Family History Library, Salt Lake City, UT, USA or via its 4,600 satellite FamilySearch centers worldwide. .

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306914.


Poor Law Unions

Ulverston Poor Law Union,Lancashire


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 523-526.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:09.
  • This page has been accessed 10,396 times.