Cass County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Cass County

Guide to Cass County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Cass County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 18, 1828
County Seat Logansport
Courthouse
Address Cass County Courthouse
103 Cass County Government Bldg
Logansport, IN 46947-3114
Phone:. 219.753.7740
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
 
Marriage
 
Death
 
Land
 
Probate
1882*
 
1829*
 
1882*
 
1830
 
1829
*For earlier dates, 

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries 

  • Parent Counties: Formed 18 December 1828 from unorgainized territory (Carroll)<[1]
  • County Seat: Logansport [2]


Neighboring Counties

Pulaski • Fulton • Miami • Howard • Carroll • White

Fulton CountyCass CountyKosciusko CountyWabash CountyTippecanoe CountyTipton CountyClinton CountyHoward CountyMiami CountyWhite CountyCarroll CountyPulaski CountyINCass.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

  • Cemeteries of Cass County, Indiana - INGenWeb

Census Records

For tips on accessing Cass County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cass County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cass County, Indiana. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information.

  • Helm, Thomas B. History of Cass County, Indiana: From the Earliest Time to the Present, with Biographical Sketches, Notes, Etc., Together with an Extended History of the Northwest, the Indiana Territory, and the State of Indiana. Owensboro, Ky: Cook & McDowell, 1980. 977.286 H2b FHP Collection Google Book  other library  Internet Archive
  • Powell, Jehu Z. History of Cass County Indiana, from Its Earliest Settlement to the Present Time: With Biographical Sketches and Reference to Biographies Previously Compiled ... Vol. 1 and 2. (Chicago: Lewis Pub. Co, 1972.) 977.286 H2p   FHL Collection  Vol. 2 Internet Archive other library

For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Indiana Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cass County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Maps

Military Records

Powell, Jehu Z., "Military History" Chapter 13 in History of Cass County Indiana,  give name, regiment and company. Vol. 2. (Chicago: Lewis Pub. Co, 1972.) 977.286 H2p   FHL Collection  Vol. 2 Internet Archive other library


Wolfe, Barbara Schull. Revolutionary War Soldiers of Cass Co., Ind. (Logansport, Ind: Wolfe, 1976.) 977.2 A1 no. 153 FHP Collection other library

Civil War

Civil War service men from Clark County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment)that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Clark County.


Civil War Book


Helm, Thomas B. "Military History" Chapter 5 in History of Cass County, Indiana: give name, regiment and company.  (Owensboro, Ky: Cook  McDowell, 1980.) page 125-190  977.286 H2h FHP Collection Google Book  Internet Archive

World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
World War II, 1941-1945

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cass County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records
Voter Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Cass County Courthouse
103 Cass County Government Bldg
Logansport, IN 46947-3114
Phone:. 219.753.7740 

County Health Department has birth and death records.
County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1892,
divorce and court records from 1894.
County Auditor has land records. [3]

Archives
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Family History Centers

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cass County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records. See also How to order Indiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriage licenses were required by counties beginning in 1800. Original marriage records are held at the office of the Cass County, Indiana County Clerk with divorce records located with the Cass County, Indiana Clerk of Courts.

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cass County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Web Sites

Places

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Cass County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cass_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cass County, Indiana 211 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/91/Igiindiana.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 October 2014, at 15:35.
  • This page has been accessed 21,441 times.