Cass County, MichiganEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Michigan Gotoarrow.png Cass County

Guide to Cass County Michigan genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Michigan
Online Records


Cass County, Michigan
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Michigan
Location of Michigan in the U.S.
Facts
Founded October 29, 1829
County Seat Cassopolis
Courthouse
Address Cass County Courthouse
120 N Broadway
P. O. Box 355
Cassopolis, MI 49031
Phone: (616) 445-8621
Cass County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


County Clerk Register has birth and death records from 1867,
marriage records from 1837, divorce and court records from 1831,
land records from 1832 and naturalization records 1924-1941.
Probate Court has probate records from 1829. [1]

History

Parent County

1829--Cass County was created 29 October 1829 from unorganized territory.

County seat

Cassopolis [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Michigan county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Michigan County Boundary Maps" (1790-1897) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Michigan counties see: Michigan Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Berrien  • Elkhart County, Indiana  • Kalamazoo  • St. Joseph County, Indiana  • St. Joseph  • Van Buren

Kalamazoo CountyCalhoun CountySt. Joseph CountySt. Joseph CountyPorter CountyKosciusko CountyElkhart CountyNoble CountyLa Grange CountyMarshall CountyLa Porte CountyBranch CountyCass CountyVan Buren CountyAllegan CountyBerrien CountyMICass.JPG


Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Michigan denominations, view the Michigan Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Michigan Land and Property for additional information about early Michigan land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cass County, Michigan. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Michigan Local Histories.

Maps

Micass.jpg

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Cass County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Cass County.

- 1st Regiment, Michigan Cavalry, Company M
- 12th Regiment, Michigan Infantry, Companies A and K
- 17th Regiment, Michigan Infantry, Company B

Newspapers

The Saginaw News[1]

Obituaries

Southwest Michigan Obituary Index from the earliest date to 2000.

Probate

In most counties in MIchigan, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for MIchigan - Cass - Probate records.

Taxation

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased as shown below:

Birth Records and Death Records from the Michigan Department of Community Health (from 1867) or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Marriage Records (from 1867) and Divorce Records (from 1897) from the County Clerk.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cass County, Michigan page 344, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:20.
  • This page has been accessed 8,331 times.