Cass County, MinnesotaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Minnesota Gotoarrow.png Cass County

Guide to Cass County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Minnesota
Online Records


Cass County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Cass County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 31, 1851
County Seat Walker
Courthouse
Address Cass County Courthouse
303 Minnesota Avenue West
P.O. Box 3000
Walker, MN 56484
Phone: 218-547-7260
218-547-7247
Cass County Website

Contents

County Courthouse




County Treasurer has birth and death records from 1896
and marriage records from 1897.
Clerk District Court has divorce records from 1899, court records from 1898,
probate and naturalization records.
City or Town Clerks have burial records.[1]

History

Parent County

  • 1851--Cass County was created 31 March 1851 from Dakota, Pembina (Old), Mahkahta, Eliminated 1 Sep 1851, and Wahnata, Eliminated 1 Sep 1851, Counties.

County seat: Walker [2]

  • For a brief history of how Cass County was named, click here, then select Cass County.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Minnesota County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Minnesota County Boundary Maps" (1849-1960) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Backus | Bena | Boy River | Cass Lake | Chickamaw Beach | East Gull Lake | Federal Dam | Hackensack | Lake Shore | Longville | Motley | Pillager | Pine River | Remer | Walker

Townships

Ansel Township | Barclay Township | Becker Township | Beulah Township | Birch Lake Township | Blind Lake Township | Boy Lake Township | Boy River Township | Bull Moose Township | Bungo Township | Byron Township | Crooked Lake Township | Deerfield Township | Fairview Township | Gould Township | Hiram Township | Home Brook Township | Inguadona Township | Kego Township | Leech Lake Township | Lima Township | Loon Lake Township | Maple Township | May Township | McKinley Township | Meadow Brook Township| Moose Lake Township | Otter Tail Peninsula Township | Pike Bay Township | Pine Lake Township | Pine River Township | Ponto Lake Township | Poplar Township | Powers Township | Remer Township | Rogers Township | Salem Township | Shingobee Township | Slater Township | Smoky Hollow Township | Sylvan Township  | Thunder | Lake Township | Torrey Township | Trelipe Township || Turtle Lake Township | Wabedo Township | Walden Township | Wilkinson Township | Wilson Township | Woodrow Township

Unorganized

Wahnena | North Cass | North Central Cass | East Cass

Unincorporated

Outing | Pontoria

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.


Court

Land

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Cass – LAND AND PROPERTY


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cass County, Minnesota. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps

Mncass.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cass County, Minnesota newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.


Taxation

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Minnesota Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cass County, Minnesota page 363, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 December 2014, at 23:56.
  • This page has been accessed 8,217 times.