Cass County, Missouri GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Cass County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Cass County, Missouri|
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
|Founded||March 3, 1835|
|Address|| Cass County Courthouse|
102 E Wall Street
Harrisonville, Mo 64701
Cass County Website
Cass County, Missouri Record Dates
County Clerk has birth records 1861-1896
and court records from 1843; Recorder of Deeds
has marriage, divorce and land records;
Associate Division has probate records
For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
- Big Creek Township
- Coldwater Township
- Everett Township
- Garden City
- Kansas City
- Lone Tree
- Pleasant Hill
- The State Historical Society of Missouri has information on historical Missouri place names for all Missouri Counties.
- Cass County, Missouri, Cemetery Records, Vol. 1 at Ancestry.com ($)
For tips on accessing Cass County, Missouri Genealogy census records online, see: Missouri Census.
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.
- Kansas City, Missouri City Directories, 1889-91 at Ancestry.com ($)
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.
Local histories are available for Cass County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.
A History and directory of Cass County, Missouri containing a history of the county, its towns, commercial interests, etc. by A.L. Weber (1908) is available online free from Google Books.
- Kansas City, Missouri : its history and its people, 1808-1908 at Ancestry.com ($)
- A civic history of Kansas City, Missouri at Ancestry.com ($)
- The History of Cass and Bates counties, Missouri : containing a history of these counties, their cities, towns; biographical sketches of their citizens, general and local statistics, history of Missouri. St. Joseph, Mo. : National Historical Co., 1883.
- Online at FamilySearch (Free)
- Ellsberry, Elizabeth Prather. History and directory of Cass County, Missouri : containing a history of the county, its towns, commercial interests, etc... Harrisonville, Mo. : Cass County Leader, 1908.
- Online at Family Search (Free)
- Glenn, Allen. History of Cass County, Missouri. Topeka, Kansas : Historical Pub. Co., 1917.
- Online at FamilySearch (Free)
- Maps of Missouri (1804-1889)
- Family Maps of Cass County, Missouri Genealogy (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- Map of Cass County townships (Histopolis)
- The University of Missouri Digital Library has digital copies of Missouri county plat books (ca. 1930) for all Missouri counties including Cass County. The city of St. Louis is not included in this collection.
- Map of 1904 Cass County with numerous small settlements (My Genealogy Hound)
- - 12th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company K
:- 1st Battery, Missouri State Militia Artillery (Union), Company E
:- 2nd Battery, Missouri State Militia Artillery (Union), Company A
:- 2nd Battery, Missouri State Militia Artillery (Union), Company C
:- 2nd Battery, Missouri State Militia Artillery (Union), Company D
:- 11th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry State Guard (8th Division) - Confederate, Company A
:- 11th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry State Guard (8th Division) - Confederate, Company B
:- 11th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry State Guard (8th Division) - Confederate, Company C
:- 1st Battery, Missouri Light Artillery - Confederate, Also known as Henry Guibor's Light artillery Battery
:- 14th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company D
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cass County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.
St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births. The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.
- 1827 - 1935 Missouri, Births and Christenings, 1827-1935 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1851 - 1910 Missouri Birth Records, 1851-1910 at Ancestry.com — index/images $
- 1865-1867 - Cass County Birth Index 1865-1867. Batch C514751 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1802 - 1969 Missouri, County Marriage, Naturalization, and Court Records, 1802-1969 at FamilySearch.org — index/images
- 1750 - 1920 Missouri, Marriages, 1750-1920 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1805 - 2002 Missouri, Marriage Records, 1805-2002 at [http://home.ancestry.com/
- 1850 Missouri Marriages to 1850 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1835-1882 - Cass County Marriage Books A thru E Index 1835-1882. Batch M514751 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1881-1885 - Cass County Marriage Books 1 and 2 Index 1881-1885. Batch M514752 at FamilySearch - free.
- The marriage records of Cass (Van Buren) County, Missouri at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1867 - 1976 Missouri, Deaths and Burials, 1867-1976 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1834 - 1910 Missouri, Death Records, 1834-1910 at Ancestry.com — index/images $
- Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.
- Web: Cass County, Missouri, Obituary Index, 1870-2011 at Ancestry.com ($)
Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries
- Cass County Genealogical Society,
P.O. Box 406,
400 E. Mechanic St.,
Harrisonville, MO 64701;
- Cass County Historical Society or Cass County Historical Society,
P O Box 406,
400 E Mechanic St.,
Harrisonville, MO 64701-0406
Phone: (816) 887-2393
- Cass County Family History Guild
400 E. Mechanic
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
| Check back often with these websites. Internet offerings are growing at record rates.
Local societies and libraries may know of other websites.
|Missouri Digital Heritage||Free||digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State|
|MOGenWeb||Free||Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions|
|USGenWeb Archives||Free||Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions|
|RootsWeb resources||Free||Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions|
|Linkpendium||Free||Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)|
|CyndisList||Free||Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)|
|StateofUS||Free||family history resources and government records|
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
|FamilySearch catalog||Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.|
|WorldCat||To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.|
|Allen County Public Library||located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.|
|Missouri State Archives Library||catalog; from this page you must search "Cass County"|
- ↑ Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cass County, Missouri. Page 398 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 20 August 2015, at 18:30.
- This page has been accessed 13,085 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News