Cass County, North DakotaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png North Dakota Gotoarrow.png Cass County
link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/North Dakota_Online_Genealogy_Records North Dakota
Online Records


Cass County, North Dakota genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


Cass County, North Dakota
Map
Map of North Dakota highlighting Cass County
Location in the state of North Dakota
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Dakota
Location of North Dakota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 4, 1873
County Seat Fargo
Courthouse
Address Cass County Courthouse
211 9th Street South
PO Bo 2806
Fargo, ND 58103-1833
Phone: 701.241.5646
Cass County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


Clerk District Court has divorce and court records from 1885[1]

History

Parent County

1873--Cass County was created 4 January 1873 from Pembina County. County seat: Fargo [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Barnes | Ransom | Richland | Steele | Traill | Minnesota counties: Clay | Norman | Wilkin

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

  • 1880
  • 1885
  • 1890
  • 1900
  • 1910
  • 1915
  • 1920
  • 1925
  • 1930

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about North Dakota denominations, view the North Dakota Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran

Enderlin

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Enderlin, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]

Fargo

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Enderlin, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

First Lutheran Church, Fargo

  • Records of First Lutheran Church, Fargo, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]

Hickson

  • Records of the Lutheran Church, Hickson, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Zion Lutheran Church, Harwood

  • Records of Zion Lutheran Church, Harwood, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Land

When the United States acquired North Dakota, most of the land became available for homesteading or purchase from the federal government. For more information on this, see North Dakota Land and Property.

After land was transferred from the government to private owners, the registrar of deeds in each county recorded the land transactions in the form of deeds and mortgages.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cass County, North Dakota. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section North Dakota Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cass County, North Dakota newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records of North Dakota are at the county clerk's office in each county courthouse. See above for the address of this county's courthouse. Some later estate records are available at the North Dakota Supreme Court. The Family History Library does not presently have copies of probate records from North Dakota.

See the Wiki page North Dakota Probate Records for additional information.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: dockets, guardians records, administrators records, real estate records, personal property records, and claim registers.

Cass County, N.D., Probate Records (1876-1949)

Taxation

The location of tax records of North Dakota depend on the type of tax. Some are at the clerk's office in the county courthouse, while others are in the state archive. The Family History Library does not presently have copies of tax records from North Dakota.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the North Dakota Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Cass County, N.D. Divorce and Civil Cases Records (1870-1942)

Cass County, N.D. Marriage Licenses (1870-1944)

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cass County, North Dakota. Page 522 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:16.
  • This page has been accessed 9,342 times.