Cassington, OxfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Gotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to Cassington, Oxfordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cassington, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wootton
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Woodstock PLU
Registration District Woodstock
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1721
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Woodstock
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CASSINGTON (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Woodstock, hundred of Wootton, county of Oxford, 6¾ miles (N. W.) from Oxford. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Cassington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FAMR = Family Relatives - (£)[2]
FSBOOK = FamilySearch Books - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[5]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[7]
CASSINGTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FAMR
1673-1837

FSBOOK
1673-1837

IGI 1721-1852
OFHS 1631-1939
1603-1939
1624-1905
PALL
1800-1837

TGEN 1673-1837
1673-1837
1673-1837


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474575.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 523-526. Date accessed: 14 September 2012.
  2. W.P.W. Phillimore, Oxfordshire Parish Registers, Volume 2 (London: Phillimore and Co., 1910). Digitised by Family Relatives - (£).
  3. W.P.W. Phillimore, Oxfordshire Parish Registers, Volume 2 (London: Phillimore and Co., 1910). Digitised by FamilySearch Books - free.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Oxford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 January 2014.
  5. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 24 January 2014.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  7. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,299 times.