Castle Church, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Castle Church, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Castle Church, Staffordshire
Castlechurch St Mary Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Cuttlestone
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Cheadle PLU
Registration District Stafford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1567
Bishop's Transcripts: 1680
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stafford
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CASTLE-CHURCH (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the E. division of the hundred of Cuttlestone, union,and S. division of the county, of Stafford, 1 mile(S. W.) from Stafford with the townships of Forebridge, and Rickerscote with Burton. [1]

Castle Church; With Some Account of Its Parish and Manor and of Its Escheat, Tempore Henry VIII. Digitized by Internet Archive - free.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Castle Church parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
CASTLE CHURCH PARISH (1567) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1567-1878 1567-1878 1567-1876 1567-1876 1573-1876 1573-1876
FREG 1568-1812
1567-1812
1573-1812
FS 1568-1868
1568-1856

JOIN
1567-1812

PALL
1790-1812

Stafford Castle Church St Mary was formed in 1573 as a former chapelry of  Stafford St Mary

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1567-1971 Mar 1567-1962 Bur 1573-1948
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1680-1868 Mar 1680-1856 Bur 1680-1868 missing 1853, 1857-1860 Bap. Bur

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474612.

Poor Law Unions

Cheadle Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/CastleChurch/index.html

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 526-531. Date accessed: 18 October 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 21 August 2014.
  3. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 September 2013.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  5. Staffordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  7. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:48.
  • This page has been accessed 2,605 times.