Castle Eden, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Castle Eden, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Castle Eden, Durham|
Castle Eden St James Co Durham
|Poor Law Union||Easington PLU|
|Parish registers: 1661|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1769|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
EDEN, CASTLE (St. James), or sometimes known as Castle Eden, a parish, in the union of Easington, S. division of Easington ward, N. division of the county of Durham. A church has been built in the western portion of the parish, which is noticed under the head of Wingate-Grange (Wingate) which was constructed by 1841 (which also see).
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Castle Eden, Durham Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|CASTLE EDEN PARISH Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
The Parish Registers for the period 1694-1974 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/CE).
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/50 1769-1851 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.
FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Non Conformist Churches
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Primitive Methodist
- Roman Catholic
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241355.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Castle Eden on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 11 May 2015, at 00:53.
- This page has been accessed 3,372 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News