Castle Hall, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Castle Hall

Guide to Castle Hall, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Castle Hall, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stockport Borough
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Stockport PLU
Registration District Ashton under Lyne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1852
Bishop's Transcripts: 1892
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

CASTLE-HALL, is a chapelry in Dukinfield township, Stockport parish, Cheshire;it is on the verge of the county, adjacent to the river Tame, the Manchester and Sheffield railway, and Stalybridge. It was constituted in 1846. The post town is, Stalybridge, Lancashire.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241245.

Church records

Castle Hall Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Castle Hall Holy Trinity Parish (1841) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1841-1909
  NONE
1852-1933
  NONE
1853-1857
  NONE
FS BT'S 1892-1893   NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

 Here is a list of Castle Hall parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers, Cheshire Record Office call no.: P 217/1/1, P 217/5124/1-5, P 217/2/1-2, P 217/3.

Parish registers for Castle Hall, 1852-1938 Film
Baptisms, 1852-1925. Marriages, 1852-November 1882.
2068904 Items 2 - 6
Marriages, November 1882-1933. Burials, 1853-1879.
2068905

Bishop's transcripts, Cheshire Record Office: EDB 46

Bishop's transcripts for Castle Hall, 1892-1893 Film
Baptisms, 1892-1893.
1647367 Item 3

Non Conformist Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Aston under Lyne

Poor Law

  • Stockport

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites 

References

  1. John Marius Wilson,Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Date Accessed: 15 February 2013
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 September 2014, at 23:49.
  • This page has been accessed 2,625 times.