Castle Rising, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Castle Rising, Norfolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Castle Rising, Norfolk
Castle Rising St Lawrence.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Freebridge-Lynn
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Freebridge Lynn PLU
Registration District Freebridge Lynn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1573
Bishop's Transcripts: 1736
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lynn
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1847 - Court of the Peculiar of Castle Rising; Post-1846 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CASTLE-RISING (St. Lawrence), a parish, and formerly a borough and market-town, in the union and hundred of Freebridge-Lynn, W. division of Norfolk. [1]

Castle Rising St Lawrence is an Ancient parish in the diocese of Norwich.

The Church is Norman but has been heavily restored in subsequent centuries built in the 1150s by William d'Albini, at the same time as his castle.

The restorations by Anthony Salvin in the 1840s, and George Street in the 1850s, were unlike other restorations in the Sandringham area not funded by the Prince of Wales and preceded his purchase of Sandringham House.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Freebridge Lynn 1837-1938
  • King's Lynn 1939-1974

Church records

Castle Rising, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[8]
Castle Rising, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1573-1837

FREG 1736-1818
1573-1836
1736-1818
FS ATs 1736-1818 1736-1818 1736-1818
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
JOIN
1573-1836

PALL
1790-1837

TIN 1813-1880


Norfolk Record Office reference PD 343/1-6

This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:

Content
Film
Baptisms and burials 1736-1818 Marriages 1736-1817
FHL BRITISH Film
1526742 Item 9

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438857.


http://www.btinternet.com/~e.c.apling/1891Census/CastleRising.htm transcript of 1891 census

Poor Law Unions

Freebridge Lynn http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?FreebridgeLynn/FreebridgeLynn.shtml

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 526-531. Date accessed: 19 September 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  8. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 September 2014, at 17:46.
  • This page has been accessed 3,138 times.