Caston, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Caston, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy': parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Caston, Norfolk
Caston Holy Cross.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wayland
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Wayland PLU
Registration District Wayland
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Breckles
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CASTON (Holy Cross), a parish, in the union and hundred of Wayland, W. division of Norfolk, 3½ miles (S. E.) from Watton. [1]


Caston Holy Cross is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norfolk.

Caston was the residence of Edward Gilman, a prosperous yeoman of Welsh descent, who died in 1573. Gilman's son Robert, born in 1559, later removed to Hingham, Norfolk, about five miles distant. HIs son Edward Gilman subsequently became caught up in the Puritan movement that swept parts of Norfolk, and moved to Hingham, Massachusetts, arriving in the Massachusetts Bay Colony on August 10, 1638. Puritanism was found elsewhere: Edward Gilman's sister Bridget, married to Edward Lincoln, had a son Thomas Lincoln, who himself left  Norfolk for Massachusetts in 1633 accompanied by Mary Gilman Jacob, another of Edward Gilman's sisters. Thomas Lincoln's brother Samuel followed him to Massachusetts in 1637, settling in Hingham alongside his brother. Samuel Lincoln became the great-great-great-great-grandfather of U.S. President Abraham Lincoln.

The Gilman family subsequently moved to Exeter, New Hampshire, where they became noted businessmen, statesmen and American patriots.

The family branch which remained in England subsequently produced two mayors of Norwich: Charles Suckling Gilman and his son, Sir Charles Rackham Gilman, who were both instrumental in the development of the insurance industry of Norwich and became philanthropists. Charles Rackham Gilman served as the first Chairman of Conservators of Mousehold Heath, which was donated to the City Council during Gilman's period of office as mayor. Gilman Road in Norwich is named for the family. Also descended from the Caston Gilmans was the prominent Norfolk barrister Samuel Heyhoe Le Neve Gilman, who resided at Hingham.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Wayland 1837-1974

Church records

Caston, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[8]
Caston, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1539-1700

FREG 1602-1812
1602-1812
1602-1812
FS ATs 1602-1812 1602-1812 1602-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IGI 1538-1718 1539-1699
JOIN
1539-1705

NTA 1538-1720
1539-1705

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 158/ 1-8

This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held at the Family History Library.
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:

Content
Film
Baptisms 1602-1608, 1623-1630, 1665-1812 Marriages 1602-1607, 1623-1630, 1666-1812 Burials 1602-1609, 1623-1630, 1665-1812
FHL BRITISH Film
1526739 Item 1

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438867.



Poor Law Unions

Wayland Poor Law Union   

For more information on the history of the workhouse, see Peter Higginbotham's web site: www.workhouses.org.uk and  http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Wayland/Wayland.shtml

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 531-534. Date accessed: 19 September 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  7. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.
  8. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:46.
  • This page has been accessed 3,899 times.