Catahoula Parish, LouisianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Louisiana  Gotoarrow.png  Catahoula Parish

Guide to Catahoula Parish, Louisiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Louisiana
Online Records


Catahoula Parish, Louisiana
Map
Map of Louisiana highlighting Catahoula Parish
Location in the state of Louisiana
Map of the U.S. highlighting Louisiana
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 23, 1808
County Seat Harrisonburg
Courthouse
LACatahoulacourthouse.jpg
Address 301 Bushley Street
Room 101
Harrisonburg, LA 71340
Website: www.laclerksofcourt.org/Parishs/catahoulaparish.htm
Adopt-a-wiki page
LaGenWeb logo.gif This page adopted by:
LAGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Parish Coordinator
Catahoula Parish LAGenWeb
Adopt a page today
 

Contents

Parish Courthouse

Catahoula Parish County Courthouse
301 Bushley Street; PO Box 198
Harrisonburg, LA 71340-0198
Phone: 318.744.5497 

Parish Clerk has marriage records from 1830,
burial, probate and divorce records from 1800’s,
land records from 1808 and military records [1]

Parent Parish

  • 1808--Catahoula Parish was created 23 March 1808 from Rapides Parish.
    Parish seat: Harrisonburg [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Louisiana Parishes see: Louisiana Parishes with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Parishes or Counties

Resources

Lacatahoula.png

African American

Cemeteries

Census

Census Pop.
190016,351
191010,415−36.3%
192011,0746.3%
193012,45112.4%
194014,61817.4%
195011,834−19.0%
196011,421−3.5%
197011,7693.0%
198012,2874.4%
199011,065−9.9%
200010,920−1.3%
201010,407−4.7%
Catahoula Parish Census Data[3]

Church

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Catahoula Parish, Louisiana. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories. Louisiana Museums

Maps

Military

Louisiana Military History Online

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Catahoula Parish, Louisiana served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Catahoula Parish, Louisiana:


- 1st Regiment, Louisiana Cavalry (Confederate), Company K
- 3rd Regiment, Louisiana Cavalry (Confederate), Companies H and K
- 3rd Regiment, Louisiana Cavalry (Harrison's)(Confederate), Companies D and E

Newspapers


Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Catahoula Parish, Louisiana newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the Catahoula Parish, Louisiana clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.

See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Louisiana Probate Records  ~  information on.

Taxation

Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.

Louisiana Records and Statistics Information  ~ where and how to order information.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Louisiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

Catahoula Parish Websites

Louisiana Websites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002) Catahoula County, Louisiana, p.290
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. United States Census Bureau. "Louisiana Population of Counties by Decennial Census: 1900 to 1990". http://www.census.gov/population/cencounts/la190090.txt. Retrieved 2008-02-02. 


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 December 2014, at 23:49.
  • This page has been accessed 9,313 times.