Catterick, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Catterick

Guide to Catterick, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Catterick, Yorkshire
Catterick St Anne Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Gilling; East Hang; West Hang
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Richmond PLU
Registration District Bedale; Northallerton; Richmond
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1616
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Catterick
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Catterick
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CATTERICK (St. Anne), a parish, in the unions of Bedale, Richmond, and Northallerton; comprising, in the wapentake of Gilling-East, the townships of Bolton-upon-Swale, Ellerton-upon-Swale, Kiplin, Scorton, Uckerby, and Whitwell; in the wapentake of Hang-East, those of East and West Appleton, Brough, Catterick, Colbourne, Hipswell, Killerby, Scotton, and Tunstall; and in that of Hang-West, the township of Hudswell; N. riding of York; the whole containing 2965 inhabitants, of whom 600 are in the township of Catterick, 5 miles (S. E.) from Richmond. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Catterick exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
CATTERICK PARISH (1615) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1653-1914 1653-1914 1660-1930 1660-1930 1653-1893 1653-1893
FS 1615-1874

1615-1885

1615-1856

JOIN None

1653-1837

None

List of Chapelry's in this Parish


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1653.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464231.

Poor Law Unions

Richmond Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 531-534. Date accessed: 11 December 2013.
  2. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 7 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:02.
  • This page has been accessed 4,076 times.