Caunton, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Caunton, Nottinghamshire
Caunton St+Andrew Nottinghamshire.jpg
Caunton St+Andrew Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thurgarton
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Southwell PLU
Registration District Southwell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1709
Bishop's Transcripts: 1609
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Southwell
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Southwell
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CAUNTON (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Southwell, N. division of the wapentake of Thurgarton, S. division of the county of Nottingham,5½ miles (N. W. by N.) from Newark. There are places of worship for Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists. [1]

Additional information:

Caunton St Andrew is an Ancient parish and included within the boundary Knapthorpe, Beesthorpe(sometimes spelled Besthorpe), and Deanhall

Southwell and Nottingham Church History project church history Caunton St Andrew

The church has been designated a grade I listed building Caunton St Andrew

See also Caunton Wikipedia


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Caunton, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
CAUNTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1837


Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Caunton

Trascribed by Mills, Harold.  An Alphabetical List of the Parishioners of Caunton, Nottinghamshire, c.1846.

The list contains Surname, forename, Condition, Trade, Abode and Remarks, available at the Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 6247 and also in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 109, pages 32-58, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n

.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438908.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Southwell Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Caunton in GENUKI: www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/Caunton/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 November 2014, at 19:10.
  • This page has been accessed 1,598 times.