Caverswall, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Caverswall, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Caverswall, Staffordshire
Caverswall St Peter Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Totmonslow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Cheadle PLU
Registration District Cheadle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1552
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cheadle
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CAVERSWALL (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Cheadle, N. division of the hundred of Totmonslow and of the county of Stafford, 3 miles (E.) from Longton with the township of WestonCoyney with Hulme. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans; and at Caverswall Castle is a private Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Please see Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Caverswall St Peter

Caverswall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG =FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
CAVERSWALL PARISH (1552) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1552-1895
1559-1861

FMP 1552-1895 1552-1895 1560-1901 1560-1901 1552-1901 1552-1901
FREG 1552-1607, 1613-1643, 1662-1703
1552-1607, 1613-1643, 1662-1703, 1837-1858, 1861-1893
1552-1607, 1613-1643, 1662-1682, 1700, 1813-1904
FS 1663-1864
1663-1842

NBI

1552-1837

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1552-1978 Mar 1552-1998 Bur 1552-2001
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1663-1864 Mar 1663-1842 Bur 1663-1864

Caverswall Roman Catholic parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

CAVERSWALL ROMAN CATHOLIC Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI

1598-1832

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in
full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474629.

Poor Law Unions

Cheadle Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Caverswall/index.html

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 538-542. Date accessed: 18 October 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 21 August 2014.
  4. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 1 June 2014.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:48.
  • This page has been accessed 2,958 times.