Cawston, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png  NorfolkGotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Cawston, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Erpingham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Aylsham PLU
Registration District Aylsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ingworth
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CAWSTON (St. Agnes), a parish, in the union of Aylsham, hundred of South Erpingham, E. division of Norfolk, 3¼ miles (E. by N.) from Reepham, and on the road from Norwich to Holt. The Independents, and Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists, have places of worship. [1]

Cawston St Agnes is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Norwich.

At the centre of the village lies the mediaeval perpendicular parish church of St Agnes, which is a Grade I listed building. Erected at the end of the 14th century a  Perpendicular decorated Church, that dwarfs the small village of Cawston. The tower stands at 120 feet. A deeply moulded doorway with a wodehouse or wild man and a dragon. The crest of De La Pole family was the head of a wild man. The De Pole's were the Earls of Suffolk who largely rebuilt this magnificent church and its mighty tower in the early 15th century.

For local government purposes the village and civil parish are in the Broadland district.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Aylsham 1837-1938
  • Norwich Outer 1939-1974
  • Norwich

Church records

Cawston, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[7]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[8]
Cawston, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1555-1901
1542-1901
1551-1901
FS ATs 1606-1812 1606-1812 1606-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1538-1672, 1801-1901 Undefined 1538-1672, 1712-1901 Undefined 1538-1672, 1712-1900
JOIN
1712-1837

NTA 1712-1901
1712-1900; 1754-1901 (Banns)
1712-1901
TIN 1813-1880


Images of the parish register for this parish are available at FamilySearch Historical Records. The old registers for the period 1538-1672 were rebound by donations from Pembroke College Cambridge and another benefactor prior to microfilming. They remain damaged and in parts illegible.

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 193

Parish registers, 1538-1901
Microfilm copy of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich, England.

Baptisms 1538-1600, 1605-1672 Marriages 1542-1649, 1653-1660 Burials 1538-1655, 1664-1665 (above registers are damaged, mostly illegible) Baptisms & burials 1712-1801 Marriages 1712-1754 Baptisms & burials 1801-1812 Baptisms 1813-1901 Marriages & banns 1754-1812 Marriages 1813-1846 FHL BRITISH Film 1657158 Items 41-49
Marriages 1837-1900 Burials 1813-1900 Banns 1858-1901 Register bill of baptisms 1635-1636 FHL BRITISH Film 1657179 Items 1 - 7
Draft register: Baptisms 1551-1564 Burials 1551-1558 FHL BRITISH Film 1657179 Item 25

Archdeacons transcripts, 1606-1812

Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.
Early entries in Latin.

Baptisms and burials 1606-1608?, 1623-1634, 1665-1670, 1684-1812 Marriages 1606-1608?, 1628-1634, 1670, 1686-1812 FHL BRITISH Film 1526779 Item 12

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438854.




Poor Law Unions

Aylsham Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Parish chest materials of Cawston, 1596-1618 Microreproduction of original records at the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich.
Norfolk Record Office nos.: MC 254/2/1-11.

List of names of the poor of the parish, 1596; Inventory of church goods, 1603; Overseers' accounts, 1606, 1612; Churchwardens' accounts, 1615-1616; Overseers' accounts, 1610-1617; Poor rates, 1618; Property valuations, no date; Orders concerning the poor, no date. Vault BRITISH Film 2186803 Item 12

Parish chest material, 1618-1831 Microfilm copy of original in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library in Norwich, Norfolk, England.

Churchwardens accounts, 1679-1681 Bond, 1618 Apprenticeship indentures, 1618, 1630-1634, 1700-1718, 1794, 1818 Inventories, 1699, 1826 Settlement certificates, 1702-1705, 1731-1743, 1752-1778, 1787 Removal orders, 1702, 1778, 1795 Settlement examinations, 1768, 1797, 1799, 1816, 1826-1830 Miscellaneous papers, 1645, 1789, 1792, 1828-1831 FHL BRITISH Film 1951457 Items 3-10

See also

England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 538-542. Date accessed: 19 September 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 24 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.
  7. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.
  8. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 April 2014, at 17:01.
  • This page has been accessed 3,637 times.