Cayuga IndiansEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Cayuga Indians ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and other agency records.

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png New York Gotoarrow.png Indians of New York Gotoarrow.png Cayuga Indians

Cayuga Indian - Umpine.jpg

Ancestral Homeland: Cayuga Lake, New York

One of the Five/Six Nations of Iroquois (Seneca, Tuscarora, Cayuga, Onondaga, Oneida, and Mohawk)

The Cayuga Nation is primarily associated with the state of New York[1].

Linguistic group: Iroquoian

Contents

Tribal Headquarters

Cayuga Indians
P. O. Box 11
Versailles, NY 14168-0011
Phone: 1.716.337.4270
Fax: 1.716.337.0268

History

Brief History

Lived near Lake Cayuga in New York.  Many moved to Canada during the Revolutionary War, others moved to Ohio, Wisconsin and Indian Territory

The Cayuga were a member of the confederation of the Five Nations of Iroquois (later six)

Brief Timeline

  • 1660: population estimated as 1,500
  • 1775-1783: American Revolution
  • 1778: population 1,100
  • 1784 October 22,  Treaty at Fort Stanwix with The Six Nations
  • 1789 January 9, Treaty at Fort Harmar, with The Six Nations
  • 1792 April 23, Treaty with the Five Nations of Indians
  • 1794 November 11, Treaty at Konondaigua
  • 1831-1832 Removal of the Cayugas, Senecas and Delaware from the Sandusky region (Ohio) to Indian Territory (Oklahoma).
  • 1838 January 15, Treaty at Buffalo Creek, treaty with New York - acknowledge
  • 1937 Under the Indian Reorganization Act the Cayuga joined with the Oklahoma Seneca to form the Seneca-Cayuga Tribe of Oklahoma.

Reservations

The tribe is primarily associated with the Cayuga Reservation in New York.

The tribe was under the following jurisdictions

New York Agency

Six Nations Agency

Michigan Superintendency

Additional References to the History of the Tribe

Frederick Webb Hodge, in his Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico, gave a more complete history of the Cayuga Nation, with estimations of the population of the tribe at various time periods.

R. David Edmunds. The Sandusky Indian Removal "More Anxious Than Ever to Emigrate." TimeLine. Ohio Historical Society. July/September 2012 Vol.29 no. 3 pg. 21-35.   FHL 977.1 H25t V.29 No.3 (July/Sept 2012)

Records

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Agency Records

Correspondence and Census

Tribe Agency Location of Original Records Pre-1880 Correspondence M234 Roll Number FHL Film Number Post-1885 Census M595 Roll Number FHL Film Number
Cayuga New York Agency
1838-49
Washington D.C. Rolls 583-97 - Rolls 290-300 Films:579700-579709
Cayuga Miami Agency, 1870-1952 Washington D.C. and Fort Worth - - - -

Treaties

The year link (year of treaty) is a conncetion to an online copy of the treaty.

  • 1784 October 22, at Fort Stanwix with The Six Nations
  • 1789 January 9, at Fort Harmar, with The Six Nations
  • 1792April 23, with the Five Nations of Indians
  • 1794 November 11,at Konondaigua
  • 1838 January 15, at Buffalo Creek, treaty with New York - acknowledge

Important Web Sites

For Further Reading

See For Further Reading.

References

  1. Indian Entities Recognized and Eligible To Receive Services From the United States Bureau of Indian Affairs, Federal Register, Vol. 67, No. 134, 12 July 2002 Available online

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 August 2015, at 19:29.
  • This page has been accessed 12,061 times.