Cazenovia, New YorkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United Statesgo to New Yorkgo to Madison Countygo toTown of Cazenovia

Contents

Resources

Church Records

History

Additional Resources:

Madison County, New York History

Genealogical Resources: History of Cazenovia, NY

Repositories

Archives, Libraries and Museums

Cazenovia Public Library
100 Albany Street (Route 20)
Cazenovia, NY 13055
Phone:315–655–9322

Oneida Public Library
220 Broad Street
Oneida, New York 13421
Phone: 315-363-3050

Genealogical resources: Local History Room
The Oneida Public Library’s Local History Room contains a noncirculating collection of over 1,560 books, pamphlets, maps and genealogical materials relating to the City of Oneida, Madison County, Oneida County and New York State. It also contains on microfilm Oneida City and Madison County newspapers dating back to 1846, a complete set of published directories of Oneida City and surrounding communities and U.S. Census data for Madison County from 1850 to 1930.

Societies

New Woodstock Regional Historical Society (Sara Chevako)*
Phone: 315-662-3841
E–mail: stchevako@frontiernet.net
Railroad St., PO Box 45
New Woodstock, NY 13122

Madison County Historical Society
435 Main Street
Oneida, NY 13421
Phone: 315-363-4136/315-361-9735
E–mail: history@mchs1900.org

Genealogical Resources: The Mary King Research Library collections includes the following items, family names, newspapers on microfilm, vital stats, census records and more.The Society also has an online newsletter.

Town Clerk

Cazenovia Town Clerk
Linda Mather
CazenoviaTown Hall
7 Albany Street
Cazenovia, NY 13035
Phone: 315-655-9213
Email: matherllc@live.com
Hours: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM Monday through Thursday
8:00 AM - 3:00 PM Friday
Maintains a permanent record of all births, deaths and marriages that occur within the town since 1884.

Town Historian

Russell Grills, Historian[2]
CazenoviaTown Hall
7 Albany Street
Cazenovia, NY 13035
Phone: 315-655-9213

Town Records

To locate additional published and transcribed records for Cazenovia, New York check:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). American Ancestors online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.


Vital Records

Newspapers

"The Pilot" newspaper (starting in 1808) and "The Republican (starting in 1854) published in Cazenovia NY. Copies of these early Issues can be found at

Cazenovia Public Library
Archive Room

100 Albany Street (Route 20)
Cazenovia, NY 13055
Phone:315–655–9322

References

  1. Linkpendium assisted in locating this collection.
  2. Elizabeth Petty Bentley, Genealogist's Address Book: State and Local Resources, with Special Resources Including Ethnic and Religious Organizations, 6th ed. (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Pub., 2009), 426. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D24ben 2009.

Places



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 April 2012, at 22:17.
  • This page has been accessed 2,034 times.