Cedar County, IowaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Iowa Gotoarrow.png Cedar County

Guide to Cedar County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Iowa
Online Records


Cedar County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Cedar County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 21, 1837
County Seat Tipton
Courthouse
Address 400 Cedar Street
Tipton, IA 52772
Phone:(563) 886-2230
Cedar County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Cedar County Courthouse
400 Cedar Street
Tipton, IA 52772
Phone:(563) 886-2230

History

Formed from sections of Dubuque County on December 21, 1837, Cedar County was named for the Red Cedar River which runs through the county. During the Great Depression, farmers rose in violent protest against state policy. The Cedar County War ensued in 1931.
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Cedar County, Iowa
  • A Topical History of Cedar County, Iowa [1]
  • History of Cedar County, Iowa 1878 [2]

Parent County

1837--Cedar County was created 21 December 1837 from Dubuque County. The County seat is Tipton [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Iowa Counties see: Iowa Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Cities

  • Bennett
  • Clarence
  • Durant
  • Lowden
  • Mechanicsville
  • Stanwood
  • Tipton
  • West Branch
  • Wilton

Other localities

  • Cedar Bluff
  • Cedar Valley
  • Centerdale
  • Downey
  • Lime City
  • Plato
  • Rochester
  • Springdale
  • Sunbury
  • Wald

Townships

Cedar County is divided into seventeen townships:

  • Cass
  • Center
  • Dayton
  • Fairfield
  • Farmington
  • Fremont
  • Gower
  • Inland
  • Iowa
  • Linn
  • Massillon
  • Pioneer
  • Red Oak
  • Rochester
  • Springdale
  • Springfield
  • Sugar Creek

Neighboring Counties

Clinton • Johnson • Jones • Linn • Muscatine • Scott

Cedar CountyClinton CountyScott CountyMuscatine CountyLouisa CountyWashington CountyJohnson CountyLinn CountyJones CountyJackson CountyIowa CountyBenton CountyBuchanan CountyDelaware CountyDubuque CountyJo Daviess CountyCarroll CountyWhiteside CountyHenry CountyRock Island CountyMercer CountyIACedar (1).JPG

Resources

Cemeteries

  • Andre Cemetery
  • Bolton Burial Site
  • Brink Cemetery
  • Burtonwood
  • Cedar Bluff Cemetery
  • Center Cemetery
  • Center Ross Cemetery
  • Clarence Cemetery
  • Dayton Valley Cemetery
  • Downey Cemetery
  • Dumont Cemetery
  • Durant
  • Evergreen Hill Cemetery
  • Hanna Cemetery
  • Fairview Cemetery
  • Friends Village Cemetery
  • Gower Cemetery
  • Hanna Cemetery
  • Healey Cemetery
  • Hebron Cemetery
  • Hickory Grove Cemetery
  • Honey Grove Cemetery
  • Howard Cemetery
  • Inland Cemetery
  • Jordan Grove
  • Kempton Cemetery
  • Lime City Cemetery
  • Lowden Cemetery
  • Mason Cemetery
  • Mason-Wallick Cemetery
  • Masonic Cemetery
  • Massillon Cemetery
  • Moneka Cemetery
  • Mount Zion Church Cemetery
  • North Liberty Cemetery
  • Ocheltree Family Cemetery
  • Parr Cemetery
  • Pee Dee Cemetery
  • Pioneer Cemetery
  • Plato United Brethren
  • Red Oak Cemetery
  • Rochester Cemetery
  • Rose Hill Cemetery
  • Rosewood
  • Saint Johns Cemetery
  • Saint Josephs Cemetery
  • Saint Marys Catholic Cemetery
  • Sand Hill Cemetery
  • Scattergood Cemetery
  • Sharon Cemetery
  • Shawver Cemetery
  • South Bethel Cemetery
  • Springdale Cemetery
  • Stanwood Cemetery
  • Tipton Cemetery
  • Trinity Lutheran Church Cemetery
  • Union Cemetery
  • Van Horn Cemetery
  • Virginia Grove Cemetery
  • Wentzel Cemetery
  • West Bethel Cemetery
  • West Branch Cemetery
  • Whitmer Cemetery
  • Wood Bridge Cemetery
  • Wright Cemetery
  • York Prairie Cemetery
Transcriptions

Census

Iowa recorded not only the federal census but state census through out the years too. The state census contains very valuable genealogical information. Where the census information can be found, what years it was taken, mortality schedules, census substitutions and much more is discussed in the very informative Iowa Census article.

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.



Lutheran
  • Records of the St. John's Lutheran Church, Cedar County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Methodist
Methodist Church. West Branch circuit Church Records [4] Contents
Baptisms, 1860-1861, 1866-1878 -- marriages, 1866-1877 -- probationers -- alphabetical list of members. Also contains records for Zion Chapel, Brick Chapel, Zion Church, Brick Church, Morris Schoolhouse, McCormick in Cedar and Johnson Counties.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cedar County, Iowa. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.


  • Jackson, A. W. An historical sketch of Gower Township, Cedar County, Iowa. [S.l. : s.n.], 1901.
  • The History of Cedar County : with a history of Iowa. Chicago, Illinois : Historical Pub. Co., c1901.
  • The History of Cedar County, Iowa : containing a history of the county, its cities, town, etc., a biographical directory of its citizens, war record of its volunteers in the late rebellion .... Chicago : Western Historical, 1878.
  • Aurner, Clarence Ray. A topical history of Cedar County, Iowa. Chicago, Illinois : S. J. Clarke Pub. Co., 1910.

Maps

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Cedar County, Iowa for European settlers included:

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Cedar County, Iowa served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Cedar County, Iowa:


- 5th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company A
- 11th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
- 24th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies B, C and D
- 46th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company I
- 11th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
:- 24th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company B
:- 24th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
:- 24th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
:- 46th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company I
:- 5th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company A

Newspapers

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: List of online newspaper archives
  • NewspaperArchive.com ($) has historical newspapers online including Cedar Rapids newspapers that may have included Cedar County residents. This database is free at some libraries.

Obituaries

Probate

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Cedar - Probate records.


Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online..


Birth

Marriage

Death

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Iowa Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Cedar County, Iowa
State Historical Society of Iowa Free list and links to data and "hard copy" material - results of "cedar county" placed in search box
The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection Free digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions - results of "cedar county" in the search box
State Library of Iowa Free electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "cedar county" in the search box
IAGenWeb Project Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
[1] [2][3] FamilySearch Free Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes
Sites that search for links pertaining to Cedar County, Iowa
RootsWeb Resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Cedar County, Iowa
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
See also local libraries and Iowa Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Cedar County, Iowa
GeneaBloggers enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs
Google+ list of groups from "iowa genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Cedar County, IA Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Cedar County Message Board

Sources and Footnotes

  1. A Topical History of Cedar County, Iowa Google Books
  2. History of Cedar County, Iowa 1878
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Methodist Church. West Branch circuit FHL 986174 Item 1
  5. National Park Service, "Auto Tour Route Maps" in Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/mopi/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
{{Iowa|Iowa}

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 December 2014, at 23:41.
  • This page has been accessed 12,748 times.