Census Records Available Through Library and Archives Canada (National Institute)Edit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

 
National Institute for Genealogical StudiesNational Institute for Genealogical Studies.gif

The original content for this article was contributed by The National Institute for Genealogical Studies in June 2012. It is an excerpt from their course Canadian Census Part 1 and Part 2  by Doris Bourrie, CG. The Institute offers over 200 comprehensive genealogy courses for a fee ($).


  • Consult Finding Aids for Divisions and appropriate reel number w
  • HF = Heads of Family census records 
  • N = Nominal census records

Contents

Prince Edward Island

(Separated from Nova Scotia in 1769, joined Confederation 1873) Ÿ

  • 1841 HF Ÿ
  • 1860-1861 HF
  • Ÿ 1881 N
  • Ÿ 1891 N
  • Ÿ 1901 N
  • Ÿ 1911 N

Nova Scotia

(Includes French Acadian to c1755, joined Confederation 1867) Ÿ

  • 1770-1771 HF Ÿ
  • 1785-1787 HF Ÿ
  • 1791-1795 HF Ÿ
  • 1811 HF Ÿ
  • 1817-1818 HF
  • Ÿ 1827 HF Ÿ
  • 1838 HF
  • Ÿ 1851 HF Ÿ
  • 1861 HF Ÿ
  • 1871 N Ÿ
  • 1881 N Ÿ
  • 1891 N Ÿ
  • 1901 N
  • Ÿ 1911 N

New Brunswick

(Separated from Nova Scotia 1783, joined Confederation 1867) Ÿ

  • 1851 N Ÿ
  • 1861 N Ÿ
  • 1871 N
  • Ÿ 1881 N Ÿ
  • 1891 N
  • Ÿ 1901 N Ÿ
  • 1911 N

Québec

(New France to 1775; includes Ontario to 1791, joined Confederation 1867) Ÿ

  • 1666 N Ÿ
  • 1667 N
  • 1681 N Ÿ
  • 1811 HF Ÿ
  • 1813 HF Ÿ
  • 1825 HF Ÿ
  • 1830 HF Ÿ
  • 1831 HF
  • Ÿ 1832-1835 HF
  • Ÿ 1842 HF Ÿ
  • 1851 N Ÿ
  • 1861 N
  • Ÿ 1871 N
  • Ÿ 1881 N
  • Ÿ 1891 N Ÿ
  • 1901 N
  • Ÿ 1911 N

Ontario

(Separated from Québec 1791; joined Confederation 1867) Ÿ

  • 1801-1842 HF Ÿ
  • 1803-1850 HF
  • Ÿ 1842 HF Ÿ
  • 1847 HF
  • Ÿ 1848 HF Ÿ
  • 1850 HF Ÿ
  • 1851 N Ÿ
  • 1861 N
  • Ÿ 1871 N Ÿ
  • 1881 N
  • Ÿ 1891 N
  • Ÿ 1901 N Ÿ
  • 1911 N

Manitoba

(Created a Province in 1870) Ÿ

  • 1831-1849 HF Ÿ
  • 1870 N Ÿ
  • 1881 N
  • Ÿ 1891 N
  • Ÿ 1901 N Ÿ
  • 1906 N Ÿ
  • 1911 N Ÿ
  • 1916 N

Saskatchewan

(Rupert’s Land; 1870 part of North West Territories; 1905 created a Province) Ÿ

  • 1881 N (Saskatchewan-Alberta) Ÿ
  • 1891 N (The Territories)
  • Ÿ 1901 N
  • Ÿ 1906 N Ÿ
  • 1911 N
  • Ÿ 1916 N

Alberta

(1870 part of North West Territories; 1905 created a Province) Ÿ

  • 1881 N (Saskatchewan-Alberta) Ÿ
  • 1891 N (The Territories) Ÿ
  • 1901 N Ÿ
  • 1906 N
  • Ÿ 1911 N Ÿ
  • 1916 N

The Territories

(Alberta, Assiniboia/Assiniboine, Saskatchewan) Ÿ

  • 1891 N

Northwest Territories

Ÿ 1911 N

Yukon

Territory (Part of the North West Territories, a separate Yukon District in 1898) Ÿ

  • 1901 N Ÿ
  • 1911 N

British Columbia

(Colony of Vancouver Island and Colony of British Columbia united in 1866. Joined Confederation in 1871) Ÿ

  • 1881 N Ÿ
  • 1891 N Ÿ
  • 1901 N Ÿ
  • 1911 N

Newfoundland

(Entered Confederation with Canada in 1949) See Finding Aid 300 for list of early nominal records for portions of Newfoundland. Some years are aggregate returns only. Nominal census records exist for 1891; 1901; 1911; 1921; 1935; 1945. Library and Archives Canada has census holdings for 1921-1945, as well as some earlier N and HF census returns. The records for 1891-1911 are held at Gosling Memorial Library, St. John’s, Newfoundland.

____________________________________________________________

Information in this Wiki page is excerpted from the online course Canadian Census Part 1 and Part 2 offered by The National Institute for Genealogical Studies. To learn more about this course or other courses available from the Institute, see our website. We can be contacted at wiki@genealogicalstudies.com

We welcome updates and additions to this Wiki page.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 September 2014, at 19:04.
  • This page has been accessed 459 times.