Chacewater, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Chacewater, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chacewater, Cornwall
Chacewater Church Cornwall.jpg
Chacewater Church Cornwall
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Powder
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Truro PLU
Registration District Truro
Records begin
Parish registers: 1828
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Powder
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHACEWATER, an ecclesiastical district, partly in the parish of Kenwyn, and partly in that of St. Kea, union of Truro, W. division of the hundred of Powder and of the county of Cornwall, 5 miles (W. by S.) from Truro.  There are places of worship for Baptists, Bryanites, and Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists. [1]

Chacewater St Paul is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cornwall, created in 1829 from chapelry inKenwyn, Cornwall Ancient Parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Kenwyn Rural
  • Kea
  • Truro Registration District; 1934-1974

Church records

Chacewater, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3][4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
Chacewater, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
COPC 1824-1912
1837-1912
1828-1911
FMP 1828-1846 1828-1837
FREG

1843, 1870-1881

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall County Record Office reference P 30/

The way points have incorrectly spelled the parish name a correction has been requested.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.

The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Chacewater.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241269.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Truro Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Chacewater in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 538-542. Date accessed: 11 March 2013
  2. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  3. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 August 2014, at 15:55.
  • This page has been accessed 1,949 times.