Chadderton St John, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Chadderton St John, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chadderton St John, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Oldham PLU
Registration District Oldham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: 1845
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochdale
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

CHADDERTON, (St. John) a chapelry, in the parish of Prestwich cum Oldham, union of Oldham, hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster,7 miles (N. E. by N.) from Manchester. The church of St. John is in the early English style. The other church in this district is dedicated to St. Matthew. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Chadderton St. John chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Prestwich to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS =FamilySearch.org
LOPC=Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG =FreeReg


CHADDERTON ST JOHN Chapelry (1846) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1846-1910 1846-1935 None
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1846-1933 1846-1974 1846-1871 - part.
PRESTWICH ST MARY PARISH (1600) Indexes (ancient parish containing CHADDERTON ST JOHN Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1603-1910 1600-1935 1712-1921
LOPC 1603-1936 1603-1895 1603-1921
LBMD 1837-1902 1837-1925 1837-1877
FMP None 1603-1712 None
AC 1603-1711 1603-1711 1603-1711


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Chadderton St. John and comprising the whole ancient parish of Prestwich to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the PRESTWICH ST MARY PARISH page.


Parish registers for St. John's, Chadderton, 1845-1920

Parish registers for St Matthew Chadderton, 1857-19

Microreproduction of original records at the Central Library, Oldham, and formerly held at the Manchester Archives Central Library in Manchester, England.
St. John's is one of two chapelries in Chadderton and within Prestwich parish. Both were ranked in 1861 as ecclesiastical parishes within Oldham district.
Manchester Archives Central Library call no.: L 225.
Bishop's transcripts for St. John's Church and St. Matthew's Church, Chadderton, 1846-1875 Microreproduction of original manuscripts housed at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.
Bishop's transcripts from the Chapelries of St. John's and St. Matthew's in Chadderton, parish of Prestwich, Lancashire, England.
Lancashire Record Office: DRM/2/250a


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306929.


Poor Law Unions

Oldham Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=53010 British History Online Chadderton

References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 538-542. Date accessed: 10 September 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
== ==

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:10.
  • This page has been accessed 3,690 times.