Chailey, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Guide to Chailey, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chailey, Sussex
Chailey St Peter Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Street
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Chailey PLU
Registration District Lewes
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lewes
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHAILEY (St. Peter), a parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Street, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 6½ miles (N. by W.) from Lewes; There are several chalybeate springs.[1]

Chailey St Peter is an Ancient Parish in East Sussex and includes South Chailey (which also incorporates South Common), South Street, Chailey (also known as Chailey Green) and North Chailey (which incorporates the North Common).

Churches history Chailey St Mary and St Peter's churches

St Mary the Virgin North Chailey.JPG

The parish church of St Peter has been designated as a Grade II* listed building British listed building

The 1931 church of St Helen has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

Chailey Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also Chailey Wikipedia for further church history and Chailey Heritage Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in Lewes Registration District
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex
The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Email:eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Chailey, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[2]
Chailey, Sussex Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
SOPC Undefined Undefined Undefined

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Chailey

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464161.

Poor Law Unions

Chailey Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 542-545. Date accessed: 20 September 2013
  2. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:25.
  • This page has been accessed 2,599 times.