Chalk, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Chalk, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Chalk, Kent
Chalk St Mary the Virgin Kent.jpg
Chalk St Mary the Virgin Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Shamwell
County Kent
Poor Law Union North Aylesford PLU
Registration District North Aylesford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1661
Bishop's Transcripts: 1719
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochester
Diocese Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office


Contents

Parish History

CHALK (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of North Aylesford, hundred of Shamwell, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 1¾ mile (E. S. E.) from Gravesend. [1]

Chalk is a village in the municipal borough of Gravesend in the Gravesham district of Kent, see Chalk, Kent Wikipedia
St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish in the Gravesend district of Kent and Diocese of Rochester. The church lies some distance from the village, and dates from the 12th century with later restoration and has been designated as grade B listed building British Listed Building Charles Dickens spent his honeymoon here with Catherine Hogarth and wrote the early installments of The Pickwick Papers here. The forge which has been designated as a listed building by English Heritage is the model for the cottage of Joe Gargery in Great Expectations.
See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 3 (1797), pp. 457-471 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources



Civil Registration

North Aylesford Registration District fckLRfckLRStrood Registration District fckLRfckLRStrood and Hoo Registration District
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Chalk, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
MED = Medway Ancestors - free[6]
Chalk, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1661-1876
1661-1876

FMP
1813-1837

FREG 1813-1898
1813-1831
1660-1892
IGI 1661-1876
MED 1661-1940 1661-1940 1661-1940

Census records

Census Returns for Chalk 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns. Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable) The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection Find my Past census search 1841-1901

Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator's schedule survives. The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats merchant ships and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved. Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organisation of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search.Find my Past 1911 census search

Poor Law Unions

North Aylesford Poor Law Union, Kent (renamed Strood)

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish. See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records) Gillingham Family History Centre, Kent Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent RMaidstone Family History Centre, Kent *FHC Portal This centre has access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access in the centre to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions. :*Publication of the restricted access images England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records) and England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) means that it is advisable to telephone the centre to reserve a computer if you wish to view these.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Chalk on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 545-549. Date accessed: 8 July 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.
  6. 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 18:28.
  • This page has been accessed 7,377 times.