Challacombe, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Challcombe, Devon)

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Challacombe, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Challacombe, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Sherwill
County Devon
Poor Law Union Barnstaple PLU
Registration District Barnstaple
Records begin
Parish registers: 1673
Bishop's Transcripts: 1597
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shirwell
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHALLACOMBE (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Barnstaple, hundred of Sherwill, Braunton and N. divisions of Devon, 10 miles (N. E. by E.) from Barnstaple.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Challacombe parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[2]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[3]
CHALLACOMBE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1673-1955 None 1673-1837 None 1653-1812 None
PRTS
1599-1621, 1673-1837

TGEN
1599-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241321.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 545-549. Date accessed: 25 October 2013.
  2. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 04:03.
  • This page has been accessed 2,895 times.