Challock, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Challock, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Challock, Kent
Challock St Cosmos & St Damian Kent.jpg
Challock St Cosmos & St Damian Kent
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Felborough
County Kent
Poor Law Union East Ashford PLU
Registration District East Ashford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; For more records see Godmersham
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridge
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Canterbury (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHALLOC (St. Cosmus and St. Damien), a parish, in the union of East Ashford, hundred of Felborough, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent, 6 miles (S.) from Faversham.[1]


Challock is a village and civil parish in the Ashford borough of Kent Challock Wikipedia

Challock St Cosmas and Damian was a originally a chaperly in Godmersham, Kent Ancient Parish.

The present church dates from the 13th century rebuilding on the site of a former Saxon church. The church was heavily damaged in the Second World war but has been restored.A map of the parish boundary may be found at A church near you

The church of St Cosmos and Damian,Church Lane, Challock has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See Kent Archeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 7 (1798), pp. 332-340 British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

See East Ashford Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Challock, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[7]
Challock, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1558-1867 1558-1867 1558-1928; 1754-1889 (Banns) 1558-1928; 1754-1889 (Banns) 1558-1980 1558-1980
FREG
1754-1911

MIDK 1754-1911

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306867.



Poor Law Unions

East Ashford Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 545-549. Date accessed: 15 July 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  5. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  6. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  7. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 June 2014, at 16:50.
  • This page has been accessed 5,543 times.