Champaign County, OhioEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Champaign County Ohio genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Ohio
Online Records
Champaign County, Ohio
Map
Boundary map of Champaign County, Ohio
Map of the U.S. highlighting Ohio
Location of Ohio in the U.S.
Courthouse
Champaign County, Ohio Courthouse.jpg
Address Champaign County Courthouse
200 N. Main Street
Urbana, Ohio 43078
Champaign County Website
Phone: 937.653.2746
United StatesGotoarrow.png Ohio Gotoarrow.png Champaign County

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1867
1805
1867
1806
1804
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries
  • Parent Counties: Formed from Franklin and Greene counties 20 February 1805.[1]
  • County Seat: Urbana


Neighboring Counties

Logan County  • Union County  • Madison County  • Clark County  • Miami County  • Shelby County


Clark CountyChampaign CountyFayette CountyMadison CountyUnion CountyHardin CountyAuglaize CountyShelby CountyMontgomery CountyMiami CountyPreble CountyDarke CountyMercer CountyMarion CountyGreene CountyLogan CountyOHChampaign.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Ohio county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Ohio County Boundary Maps" (1788-1888) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Ohio counties see: Ohio Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

For an extensive list of resources for Bible Records see Ohio Bible Records.

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries



Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGenWeb

Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Epodunk

Ohio Gravestones

Names in Stone

See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.

Finding Church Records at Other Repositories

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Adams County, Ohio Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

Miami Valley Genealogy Index is an Index to more than a half million pointers to records all over Miami Valley including Champaign County.

History

Local histories are available for Champaign County, Ohio. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.

Local History
  • Middleton, Evan P. History of Champaign County Ohio: its people, industries and institutions, Volume 1 (Indianapolis, Indiana : B.F. Bowen, 1917) Digital version at Google Books.
  • Middleton, Evan P. History of Champaign County Ohio: its people, industries and institutions, Volume 2 (Indianapolis, Indiana : B.F. Bowen, 1917) Digital version at Internet Archive.
  • A Centennial Biographical History of Champaign County, Ohio (Chicago, Illinois : Lewis Publish Company, 1902) Digital version at Google Books; Internet Archive.
  • Antrim, Joshua, The history of Champaign and Logan Counties, from their first settlement (Bellefontaine, Ohio : Press Print. Co., 1872) Digital version at Google Books; Internet Archive.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Champaign County, Ohio Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

Ohchampaign.jpg

Military

  • Civil War, 1861-1865

Civil War service men from Champaign County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Champaign County.

- 113th Regiment, Ohio Infantry , Companies E and K

     Roster of Soldiers who enlisted from Champaign County, Ohio, for service in the Armies of the United States during the war of 1861-1865, who died or were killed in the service.
List courtesy of Champaign County Historical Society.

   Champaign County Military burials with many brief biographies at Find A Grave (11 records)


Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Champaign County, Ohio newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.

For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers. Online Newspapers
Online Newspaper Abstracts
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form

Finding More Ohio Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Champaign County, Ohio newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Champaign County, Ohio Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Champaign County, Ohio Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:

See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).

  • 1790–1967 - Ohio, Probate Records, 1790-1967 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection consists of probate records and estate files from county courthouses in Ohio. The content and time period varies by county, with more records being added as they become available. This Collection will include records from 1789 to 1996. Currently, (September 2012) the collection is only searchable by browsing the images. A list of Fires that have destroyed records in the courthouses of several counties are listed on the Record Description page.
  • various years - community contributed wills Courtesy of OhioGenWeb Archives
Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Champaign County, Ohio Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

Repositories

See also a List of Ohio Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Champaign County Courthouse
200 N Main Street
Urbana, OH 43078
Phone: 937.653.2746 

Probate Judge has birth, marriage and probate records.
County Health Department has death records.
County Auditor has burial records.
County Recorder has land records.
County Clerk has divorce and court records.[1]

Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FamilySearch Center for Champaign County, Ohio is the Dayton Ohio East Family History Center. For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory.

  • Champaign County Library Family History Center
  • Piqua Public Library Family History Center
Libraries
Museums
  Societies

Taxation

Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Ohio Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Champaign County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Champaign County, Ohio Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Champaign County, Ohio Probate Court with divorce records located with the Champaign County, Ohio Clerk of Courts.

See also How to order Ohio Vital Records or order vital records electronically online.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Original Death Records on Microfilm

Divorce

Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Champaign County, Ohio Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Web Sites

Places

Populated Places

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 540, Champaign County, Ohio. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 October 2014, at 19:23.
  • This page has been accessed 31,785 times.