Chantry, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Chantry, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chantry, Somerset
Chantry Holy Trinity Church Somerset.jpg
Chantry Holy Trinity Church Somerset
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Frome
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Frome PLU
Registration District Frome
Records begin
Parish registers: 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frome
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHANTRY, a chapelry in Whatley, Great Elm, and Mellsparishes, Somerset; near the East Somerset railway, 2 miles W of Frome. Post Town, Frome. The chapelry was constituted in 1846. There is also a Wesleyan chapel.[1]

Additional information:

Chantry is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Somerset, created in 1845 from Whatley, Somerset Ancient Parish, Elm, Somerset Ancient Parish, and Mells, Somerset Ancient Parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Chantry, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
CHANTRY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1846-1912
1847-1912
1847-1912


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474597.

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed and adapted 27 June 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 August 2014, at 16:54.
  • This page has been accessed 2,764 times.