Chapel Allerton, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Chapel Allerton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Chapel Allerton, Yorkshire Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Carlton Gilbert Union PLU|
|Parish registers: 1789|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1813|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
CHAPEL-ALLERTON, or Chapeltown, a chapelry, in the parish of St. Peter, liberty of Leeds, W. riding of York, 2 miles (N. by E.) from Leeds, on the road to Harrogate; comprehending the villages of Chapeltown, Meanwood, Gledhow, and Moor-Allerton; and containing 2580 inhabitants. There is a place of worship for a congregation of Wesleyans.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Chapel Allerton, Yorkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|CHAPEL ALLERTON CHAPELRY (1724) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Leeds to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the LEEDS PARISH page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464285.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, Topographical Dictionary of England(1848). Date accessed: 14 December 2013.
- ↑ 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.
- ↑ 'West Yorkshire, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1910,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
- ↑ 'West Yorkshire, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1935,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
- This page was last modified on 31 January 2015, at 18:54.
- This page has been accessed 3,813 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More