Chapel Chorlton, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Chapel Chorlton, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Chapel Chorlton, Staffordshire
Chapel Chorlton St Laurence-Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Pirehill
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Newcastle under Lyme PLU
Registration District Newcastle under Lyme
Records begin
Parish registers: 1564
Bishop's Transcripts: 1681
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Eccleshall
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Eccleshall
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHORLTON, a chapelry, in the parish of Eccleshall, union of Newcastle-under-Lyme, N. division of the hundred of Pirehill and of the county of Stafford; comprising the townships of Chapel-Chorltonand Hill-Chorlton. Near Hill-Chorlton is a place of worship for Primitive Methodists.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See also Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Chapel Chorlton St Lawrence formed 1743

Chapel Chorlton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
CHAPEL CHORLTON PARISH (1588) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1715-1890 1715-1753, 1817-1837 1715-1812
FS 1802-1876


NBI

1588-1897

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1564-1891 Mar 1564-1996 Bur 1564-1998 (includes some Bishop's transcripts
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1671-1876 Mar 1671- 1835 Bur 1671- 1876

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.


Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474620.

Poor Law Unions

Newcastle under Lyme Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 607-612. Date accessed: 18 October 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 26 April 2014.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  5. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,205 times.