Chapel St Leonard, LincolnshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  LincolnshireGotoarrow.png  Lincolnshire Parishes

Chapel St Leonard, Lincolnshire
Chapel St Leonard St Leonard Lincolnshire.jpg
Chapel St Leonard St Leonard Lincolnshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Calceworth Hundred
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Spilsby PLU
Registration District Spilsby
Records begin
Parish registers: 1665
Bishop's Transcripts: 1566
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Calcewaith
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MUMBY, CHAPEL, a chapelry, in the parish of Mumby, union of Spilsby, Marsh division of the hundred of Calceworth, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 7 miles (E. S. E.) from Alford. It is situated on the coast. The chapel is dedicated to St. Leonard. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Cherry Willingham Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Willingham, Cherry

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438770.

Web Sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 356-359. Date accessed: 12 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:48.
  • This page has been accessed 4,817 times.