Chard, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Chard, Somerset
St. Marys , Chard Somerset.jpg
St. Marys , Chard Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Kingsbury
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Chard PLU
Registration District Chard
Records begin
Parish registers: 1540
Bishop's Transcripts: 1609
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Crewkerne
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Taunton
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHARD (St. Mary), a borough, market-town, and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Kingsbury-East, W. division of Somerset, 12 miles (S. E. by S.) from Taunton, and 139 miles (W. S. W.) from London. There are places of worship for Particular Baptists, Independent, and Wesleyans.[1]

Other places in the parish include: Crim Chard, Crimchard, Forton, Tatworth with Perry Street, South Chard, South Chard with Chilson and Perry Street, Tatworth, and Old Chard.


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Chard, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
CHARD PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1649-1843
1540-1837
1649-1853
MARR
1540-1855

NBI

1613-1981
Church records on microfilm

Parish registers for Chard, 1540-1900 Microreproduction of original records housed at the Somerset Record Office, Taunton
The chapelry of Tatworth is in the parish of Chard.
Somerset Record Office: D/P CHARD 2/1/1-11, 17-27, 2/2/1-4, 9

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1649-1812 -- Marriages, 1540-1544, 1652-1899 -- Banns, 1798-1810 -- Burials, 1649-1812. Much bleedthrough in first register. Records for 1729-1811 out of sequence.
FHL BRITISH Film
1526462 Items 27 - 37
Baptisms, 1813-1900 -- Burials, 1813-1895 -- Banns, 1814-1901 -- Draft register of baptisms and burials for 1822-1823 -- Mission chapel baptisms, 1873-1893 -- Tatworth banns, 1852-1853. Several title boards incorrect.
FHL BRITISH Film
1526463 Items 1-16

Bishop's transcripts for Chard, 1603-1825 Microreproduction of original manuscripts housed at the Somerset Record Office, Taunton.
Somerset Record Office: D/D/Rr 84-84a

Content
Film
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1603-1639, 16--, 1701-1705, 1730, 17--, 1757, 1807-1825. Some other years also missing or in poor condition.
FHL BRITISH Film
1278917 Items 8-9

Known Issues

 England Vital Records Index (FamilySearch Historical Records) known issue Indexing project batch I04481-4 is incorrect. The data entry for place names is incorrect for film 1526463 and affects the parishes of Charlton Mackrell, SomersetCharlcombe, Somerset,   Charlton Adam, Somerset,   Charlton Horethorne, Somerset

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474600.


Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 14 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 February 2014.
  3. 'Somerset Marriages', FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 July 2014, at 17:52.
  • This page has been accessed 4,278 times.