Chardstock All Saints, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.pngDevon Parishes

Guide to Chardstock, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

For more information and records see Chardstock All Saints, Dorset.

Chardstock All Saints, Devon
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Axminster; Beaminster Forum and Redhone
County Devon
Poor Law Union Axminster PLU
Registration District Axminster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1840
Bishop's Transcripts: 1847
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridport
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Chardstock
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Parish History

CHARDSTOCK-ALL SAINTS, a chapelry in Chardstock and Axminster parishes, Dorset and Devon; adjacent to the Yeovil and Exeter railway, 2 miles NNE of Axminster. The chapelry was constituted in 1840.[1]

Chapel History

Chardstock All Saints was originally created as a chapel of ease for St Andrews, the ancient parish. It was created from Chardstock St Andrews, ancient parish in Dorset and Axminster ancient parish in Devon. Most of the parish is in Dorset.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Chardstock parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
CHARDSTOCK PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PRTS
1597-1837

Chardstock St Andrew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Chardstock St Andrew Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1597-1748

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241301.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date accessed: 25 October 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:18.
  • This page has been accessed 3,711 times.