Charing, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png KentGotoarrow.pngKent Parishes

Guide to Charing, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Charing, Kent
Charing St Peter & St Paul Kent.jpg
Charing St Peter & St Paul Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Calehill
County Kent
Poor Law Union West Ashford PLU
Registration District West Ashford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1590
Bishop's Transcripts: 1565
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Canterbury
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Canterbury (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHARING (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of West Ashford, hundred of Calehill, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent, 12½ miles (E. S. E.) from Maidstone, on the road from London to Folkestone. [1]


Charing is a village and civil parish in the Ashford district of Kent. Charing Wikipedia

The Ancient Parish of St Peter and St Paul was extensive. The ecclesiastical parish of Holy Trinity, Charing Heath, was created in 1874 to serve the villages of Lenham Heath and Charing Heath.

The Parish church of Saint Peter and Saint Paul has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

The church of the Holy Trinity,Church Hill Charing which dates from 1874 has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building See also Ashford Deanery website

Charing Methodist Church, Station Road Charing, is part of South Kent Methodist Circuit  Church website

Resources

Civil Registration

See West Ashford Registration District Ashford Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Charing St Peter and St Paul parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3][4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[8]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[9]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[10]
Charing St Peter and St Paul Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1590-1895


FMP 1590-1911
1591-1916; 1754-1823 (Banns)
1790-1867
FREG
1754-1911

FS PRs 1823-1884 (Banns)
IGI 1590-1812
MIDK 1754-1911

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Charing Heath Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Charing Heath Holy Trinity Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1874-1911

MIDK To 1911

Land Tax

Images for Boughton Malherbe, Kent Charing Egerton, Kent, and Lenham, Kent are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

The 1987 microfilming at Kent Archives reference: Q/RPL/71

Census records

Census returns for Charing 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK

[2] to locate outside UK.

Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

West Ashford Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 545-549. Date accessed: 15 July 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'Coverage of Kent parish banns', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  6. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  7. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  8. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 12 November 2013.
  9. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.
  10. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 June 2014, at 17:00.
  • This page has been accessed 7,476 times.