Chariton County, MissouriEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Missouri
Chariton County
Guide to Chariton County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Chariton County, Missouri | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Missouri in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | November 16, 1820 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Keytesville |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Chariton County Courthouse 306 S Cherry Keytesville, MO 65261 Phone: 660.288.3273 Chariton County Website |
Contents |
Courthouse
County Clerk has birth and death records 1883-1887;
Circuit Court Clerk Recorder has marriage records from 1821,
divorce and court records from 1872, land from 1827,
naturalization records from 1877 and military dischrage
records from 1918; Circuit Court Division has probate Records
from 1860[1]
History
Parent County
1820--Chariton County was created 16 November 1820 from Howard County. County seat: Keytesville [2]
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Chariton County boundary changes at N2Genealogy.
Record Loss
Places/Localities
- The State Historical Society of Missouri has information on historical Missouri place names for all Missouri Counties.
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Chariton County, Missouri census records online, see: Missouri Census.
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
- Map of Chariton County townships (Histopolis)
- The University of Missouri Digital Library has digital copies of Missouri county plat books (ca. 1930) for all Missouri counties including Chariton County. The city of St. Louis is not included in this collection.
Military
Newspapers
- NewspaperArchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has Chillicothe newspapers and Moberly newspapers from the late 1800's and early 1900's that covered local news on residents from Chariton County communities.
- The Archives of The Chillicothe Constitution Tribune (1889-2009) provides free access to their newspapers online. This is essentially the same collection of Chillicothe newspapers mentioned above for NewspaperArchive.com.
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Births
- 1883-1887 - Chariton County Birth Index 1883-1887. Batch C515245 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1883-1889 - Chariton County Birth Index 1883-1889. Batch C515243 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
- 1821-1895 - Chariton County Marriage Index 1821-1895. Batch M515241 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1881-1885 - Chariton County Marriage Books 1 and 2 Index 1881-1885. Batch M515242 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Deaths
- Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.
- 1883-1887 - Chariton County Death Index 1883-1887. Batch B515246 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Chariton County, Missouri. Page 398 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.
| This Missouri-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 22 April 2013, at 20:11.
- This page has been accessed 1,494 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
