Charlcombe, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Charlcombe, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hampton and Claverton
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Bath PLU
Registration District Bath
Records begin
Parish registers: 1709
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bath
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bath and Wells (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHARLCOMBE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Bath, hundred of Hampton and Claverton, locally in that of Bath-Forum, E. division of Somerset, 1 mile (N.) from Bath.[1]

Additional information:

Charlcombe St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the Bath deanery of the Diocese of Bath and Wells in the county of Somerset.


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Bath Civil Registration District has a complete index of civil registration from 1837-2007 online through the volunteer effort of Bath BMD,England Marriage registrations post 2007 are added as index become available. There are detailed content tables available.

Church records

Charlcombe, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
CHARLCOMBE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1697-1812
1638, 1719-1913
1638, 1710-1812
MARR
1638, 1759-1837

NBI

1639-1812
Church records on microfilm

Parish registers for Charlcombe, 1709-1900 Microreproduction of original records housed at the Somerset Record Office, Taunton.
Somerset Record Office: D/P CH.C 2/1/1-5.

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1712-1812. Marriages, 1723-1837. Burials, 1709-1812.
FHL BRITISH Film
1526463 Items 17 - 20
Marriages, 1837-1900.
FHL BRITISH Film
1565184 Item 10

Bishop's transcripts for Charlcombe, 1596-1822 Microreproduction of original manuscripts housed at the Somerset Record Office, Taunton.
Somerset Record Office: D/D/Rr 85-85a

Content
Film
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1596-1611, 1622-1638, 1663-1669, 1732, 1749-1750, 1796-1822. some other years also missing or in poor condition.
FHL BRITISH Film
1278917 Items 10-11

Somerset Online Parish Clerks

Contributor include here any information about the transcripts for the parish and links to the Online Parish Clerk material.

Known Issues

England Vital Records Index (FamilySearch Historical Records) known issue Indexing project batch I04481-4 is incorrect. The data entry for place names is incorrect for film 1526463 and affects the parishes of Chard, Somerset , Charlton Mackrell, Somerset, Charlton Adam, Somerset, Charlton Horethorne, Somerset


Census records

The 1841 Census returns for Charlcombe are missing.


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 221102.


Poor Law Unions

Bath Poor Law Union, Somerset

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. From: Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 15 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 February 2014.
  3. 'Somerset Marriages', FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  5. E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 July 2014, at 17:53.
  • This page has been accessed 3,589 times.