Charles Mix County, South DakotaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  go to  South Dakota  go to  Charles Mix County
link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/South Dakota_Online_Genealogy_Records South Dakota
Online Records



Guide to Charles Mix County, South Dakota ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Charles Mix County, South Dakota
Map
Map of South Dakota highlighting Charles Mix County
Location in the state of South Dakota
Map of the U.S. highlighting South Dakota
Location of South Dakota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded May 8, 1862
County Seat Lake Andes
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Sdgwlogo2.gif This page adopted by:
SDGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Charles Mix Co. SDGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Charles Mix County Courthouse
400 Main St E; PO Box 490
Lake Andes, SD 57356
Phone: 605.487.7511 

Clerk Courts has birth, marriage and death records from 1905,
burial records, divorce, probate and court records from 1890[1]

History

Parent County

1862--Charles Mix County was created 8 May 1862 from unorganized territory.
County seat: Lake Andes [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Indian Reservation

A portion of the Yankton Indian Reservation is in Charles Mix County. The remainder of the reservation is in Douglas County.

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Various Charles Mix County Cemetery transcriptions including names, dates of birth and death if available.

Census

1905, 1915, 1925 State Censuses --Unique information could include: Ethnic Background, Maiden Name, Church Affiliation & Military Service

   1905 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search

   1915 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search

   1925 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search

   1935 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search

   1945 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search



Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about South Dakota denominations, view the South Dakota Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran
  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Pickstown, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See South Dakota Land and Property for additional information about early South Dakota land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Charles Mix County, South Dakota. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section South Dakota Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Charles Mix County, South Dakota newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

In most counties in South Dakota, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for South Dakota, Charles Mix then click Probate records.

Taxation

South Dakota tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Charles Mix County, South Dakota, p.623
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 November 2014, at 19:07.
  • This page has been accessed 7,511 times.