Charleston County, South Carolina CensusEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png South Carolina Gotoarrow.png Charleston County Gotoarrow.png Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1790 66,985
1800 57,480 −14.2%
1810 63,179 9.9%
1820 80,212 27.0%
1830 86,338 7.6%
1840 82,661 −4.3%
1850 72,805 −11.9%
1860 70,100 −3.7%
1870 88,863 26.8%
1880 102,800 15.7%
1890 59,903 −41.7%
1900 88,006 46.9%
1910 88,594 0.7%
1920 108,450 22.4%
1930 101,050 −6.8%
1940 121,105 19.8%
1950 164,856 36.1%
1960 216,382 31.3%
1970 247,650 14.5%
1980 276,974 11.8%
1990 295,039 6.5%
2000 309,969 5.1%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.
1790, 1800, 1810, 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Charleston County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see South Carolina Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.

See South Carolina Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See Charleston County, SC census assignments, including links to transcribed files [The USGenWeb Census Project®]

Contents

1790
  • Hagy, James W. People and Professions of Charleston, South Carolina, 1782-1802. Baltimore, MD, USA: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1999. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
1800
  • Hagy, James W. People and Professions of Charleston, South Carolina, 1782-1802. Baltimore, MD, USA: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1999. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
1820 Manufactures

The original manufactures schedules for South Carolina are kept at the NARA, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL Collection 1024517 - 1024518.

Published abstract:

  • National Archives. Indexes to Manufactures Census of 1820. 1920; reprint, Knightstown, Ind.: Bookmark, 1977. FHL Collection 973 X2m 1820; digital version at Lineages. [Includes this county.]
1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C.: Blair and Rives, 1841. FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840; FHL Collection 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See South Carolina, City of Charleston on page 142.]
1848
  • Chapman, Anne W. "Inadequacies of the 1848 Charleston Census," The South Carolina Historical Magazine, Vol. 81, No. 1 (Jan., 1980), pp. 24-34. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • Dawson, J.L. and H.W. DeSaussure. Census of the City of Charleston, South Carolina, for the Year 1848, Exhibiting the Condition and Prospects of the City, Illustrated by Many Statistical Details, Prepared Under the Authority of the City Council. Charleston, S.C.: J.B. Nixon, Printer, 1849. Digital version at Google Books. [More of a statistical history rather than a list of names.]
1861
  • Ford, Frederick A. Census of the City of Charleston, South Carolina, for the Year 1861. Illustrated by Statistical Tables. Prepared Under the Authority of the City Council. Charleston, S.C.: Steam-Power Presses of Evans & Cogswell, 1861. Digital version at Google Books.
1890

Lost, but substitutes are available on Ancestry, see Directories.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 31 October 2012, at 21:29.
  • This page has been accessed 1,912 times.