Charleston County, South Carolina TaxationEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png South Carolina Gotoarrow.png Charleston County Gotoarrow.png Taxation

Gotoarrow.png See also African Americans.

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, relationships, and the year an individual died or left the area. They can be used as substitutes for missing or destroyed land and census records.

  • South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Charleston County.
  • 1732 Assessments of St. Paul's Parish, Edisto Island South Carolina Pioneers
    • The original 1732 tax return is kept at the New York Public Library (South Carolina-Charleston Co.-Edisto Island; Rare Books and Manuscripts Division).[1]
Published abstracts
  • [1732] "1732 Tax Return for Edisto Island," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 18, No. 4 (Fall 1990):183-186. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 18

References

  1. This source is discussed in Philip D. Morgan, "A Profile of a Mid-Eighteenth Century South Carolina Parish: The Tax Return of Saint James', Goose Creek," The South Carolina Historical Magazine, Vol. 81, No. 1 (Jan. 1980):52. Digital version at JSTOR ($).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 31 October 2012, at 21:52.
  • This page has been accessed 878 times.