Charlevoix County, MichiganEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Michigan
Charlevoix County
Guide to Charlevoix County Michigan genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Charlevoix County, Michigan | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Michigan in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | April 2, 1869 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Charlevoix |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Charlevoix County Courthouse 203 Antrim Street Charlevoix, MI 49720 Phone: (231) 547-7200 Fax: (231) 547-7217 Toll Free Number: 1-800-548-9157 Email address: clerk@charlevoixcounty.org Charlevoix County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
County Clerk has birth records from 1867, marriage and death records from 1868,
divorce, court and land records from 1869 and probate records from from 1881. [1]
History
Parent County
1869--Charlevoix County was created 2 April 1869 from Emmet, Antrim and Otsego Counties.
County seat: Charlevoix [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
- Cities: Boyne City . Charlevoix . East Jordan
- Village: Boyne Falls
- Townships: Bay . Boyne Valley . Chandler . Charlevoix . Evangeline . Eveline . Hayes . Hudson . Marion . Melrose . Norwood . Peaine . South Arm . St. James . Wilson
- Communities: Bay Shore . Norwood
Neighboring Counties
Antrim | Cheboygan | Emmet | Otsego
Resources
Cemeteries
Norwood Township
- Norwood Cemetery
Marion Township
- Barnard Cemetery
Charlevoix Township
- Brookside Cemetery
- St Mary's Catholic
- Grand Army of the Republic
- (unnamed)
Bay Township
- North Bay Cemetery
- Oaklawn (Horton Bay)
- Dyer Cemetery
Hayes Township
- Undine Cemetery
Evangeline Township
- Griffin Cemetery
Boyne City
- Maple Lawn CemeteryUpdated 11/26/2006
- Wilson (Old Boyne) Cemetery
Wilson Township
- Lewis Cemetery
- Todds Cemetery
- Knop/Knob Cemetery
Eveline Township
- Advance Cemetery
East Jordan
- Calvary Catholic Cemetery
- Sunset Hill
South Arm Township
- Jones Cemetery
- Lakeside Cemetery
Melrose Township
- Duncan (Dunkard) Cemetery
- Maple Hill (Clarion) Cemetery
Hudson Township
- Hudson Cemetery
Chandler Township
- Chandler (Gallop) Cemetery
- Howard (Danny) Cemetery
Boyne Falls
- St Augustine Cemetery
- Boyne Valley Cemetery
- Okrion (Russian) Cemetery
Ironton
- Catholic Cemetery
- Protestant Cemetery
Beaver Island
- Holy Cross Cemetery
- St James Twp Cemetery
- Indian Cemetery
- Protar's Grave
- Clifton Graves
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Civil War
Civil War service men from Charlevoix County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Charlevoix County.
- -
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
- Michigan Birth Registrations, 1867-1902 -- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as name of child, birthdate and place, if still-born, illegitimate or twin, gender, race and record number.
- Michigan Marriage Registrations, 1868-1925 -- Free name indexes at FamilySearch. Records include such information as names of bride and groom, date of license, ages, race, residences, birthplaces, occupations and names of the fathers of the bride and groom.
- Michigan Death Registrations, 1867-1897 -- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as name of deceased, date and place of death, gender, color, marital status, age in years, months and days, disease or apparent cause of death, birthplace, names and occupations of parents, and the date the record was made.
Societies and Libraries
Charlevoix County Genealogical Society
P.O.Box 7
Boyne City MI 49712
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Family History Library Catalog
- The Charlevoix County MIGenWeb Project, an member of The MIGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Charlevoix County, Michigan page 344, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 12 April 2013, at 21:47.
- This page has been accessed 1,576 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
