Charlton Mackrell, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Charlton Mackrell, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Charlton Mackrell, Somerset
200px
Charlton Mackrell Somerse
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Somerton
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Langport PLU
Registration District Langport
Records begin
Parish registers: 1575
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ilchester
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHARLTON-MACKREL (St. Martin), a parish, in the union of Langport, hundred of Somerton, W. division of Somerset, 3 miles (E.) from Somerton.[1]

Additional information:

Charlton Mackrell St Mary The Virgin is an Ancient Parish in the Ilchester deanery of the Diocese of Bath and Wells in the Somerton hundred of the county of Somerset.

Other places in the parish include: Lytescary and Cary Fitzpaine.

The parish consists of two villages, Charlton Mackrell and Charlton Adam, together known as "The Charltons". There are also small settlements at Lytes Cary, Cary Fitzpaine (east of the A37 Fosse Way) and West Charlton. West Charlton is the original settlement of the village of Charlton Mackrell in earlier centuries, the settlement pattern moved away over time.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Langport

Church records

Charlton Mackrell, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[9]
WCGEN = West Country Genealogy - free[10]
CHARLTON MACKRELL PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1575-1812

FREG 1575-1873
1581-1838
1575-1812
FS
1575-1812

JOIN
1575-1837

MARR
1575-1838

NBI

1599-1812
PALL
1575-1812

SOPC 1575-1812
1581-1812
1575-1832
WCGEN
1575-1812

Church records on microfilm

Parish registers for Charlton-Mackrell, 1575-1901 Microreproduction of original records housed at the Somerset Record Office, Taunton.
Somerset Record Office: D/P CHA.MA 2/1/1-7, 2/2/2.

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1575-1874. Marriages, 1575-1838. Banns, 1783-1901. Burials, 1575-1812. (Poor legibility in first register, but includes indexed transcriptions to 1612.)
FHL BRITISH Film
1526463 Items 34 - 41

Bishop's transcripts for Charlton-Mackrell, 1599-1826 Microreproduction of original manuscripts housed at the Somerset Record Office, Taunton.
Somerset Record Office: D/D/Rr 89-89a

Content
Film
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1599-1639, 1662-1663, 1704-1732, 1748, 1752, 1806-1826. Some other years also missing or in poor condition.
FHL BRITISH Film
1278917 Items 18-19

Known Issues

England Vital Records Index (FamilySearch Historical Records) known issue Indexing project batch I04481-4 is incorrect. The data entry for place names is incorrect for film 1526463 and affects the parishes of Chard, Somersetshire , Charlcombe, Somersetshire, Charlton Adam, Somersetshire, Charlton Horethorne, Somersetshire

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474603.


Poor Law Unions


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax records

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/CharltonMackrell/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 31 October 2012.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 February 2014.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Somerset, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 21 October 2013.
  5. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  6. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  9. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.
  10. West Country Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.
  11. E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:59.
  • This page has been accessed 5,410 times.