Charlton by Dover, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png KentGotoarrow.pngKent Parishes

Guide to Charlton by Dover, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Charlton by Dover, Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bewsborough
County Kent
Poor Law Union Dover PLU
Registration District Dover
Records begin
Parish registers: 1690
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dover
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHARLTON (St. Peter And St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Dovor, partly in the hundred of Bewsborough, but chiefly within the liberty of the cinqueport of Dovor (of which it is a member), lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 1 mile (N. N. E.) from Dovor. [1]


Charlton by Dover is an Ancient Parish; originally Charlton was a Saxon Manor and a chapel was built around 1160 when the list of rectors shows Odo son of Richard Moryn as rector.

In 1827 the small chapel was found to be insufficient and it was expanded. Further growth in population of workers for the Dover Western Docks meant that Charlton and Tower Hamlets needed a larger church and this was dedicated as St Peter and St Paul on 19 April 1893. Within two years the older nearby church had been demolished.A map of the parish boundary of St Peter and St Paul is available at A church near you

The  Church of St Peter and St Paul has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

The Ancient Parish is described in Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 470-475. at British History Online

Resources

Civil Registration

See Dover Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Charlton by Dover, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3][4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
FREL = FamilyRelatives - (£)[7]
KOPC = Kent Online Parish Clerks - free[8]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[9]
Charlton by Dover, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1661-1725

FMP 1564-1912 1564-1912 1591-1928 1591-1928 1565-1964 1565-1964
FREG
1584-1837

FREL
1584-1837

KOPC 1701-1843
1701-1838

PALL
1790-1837

Charlton by Dover St Bartholomew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Charlton by Dover St Bartholomew Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1879-1928 1879-1928 1889-1915 1889-1915

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306860.



Poor Law Unions

Dover Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 549-554. Date accessed: 15 July 2013.
  2. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, (WayBack Machine) accessed 13 March 2012.
  3. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  5. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  6. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  7. 'Kent Parish registers collection 1538 on Familyrelatives.com,' Family Relatives, accessed 12 March 2012. Derived from Phillimore Marriage Indexes.
  8. Kent Online Parish Clerks, accessed 20 November 2013.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 June 2014, at 17:02.
  • This page has been accessed 7,857 times.