Charterhouse St Thomas, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes

Guide to Charterhouse St Thomas, Middlesex family history and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Charterhouse St Thomas, Middlesex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Finsbury Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union St Luke PLU
Registration District Holborn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1842
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Charterhouse St Thomas, was instituted a chapelry in 1843 and lies within the civil parish and metropolitan borough of Holborn St Andrew. Was later united to St Charterhouse St Mary in 1906 due to the fall in population.

1848 description:

The Charter-House, which comprises an hospital as well as a school. A district church, dedicated to St. Thomas, has been erected on part of the land; the patronage is vested in the Bishop of London.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Charterhouse St Thomas, Middlesex Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
.
.


Indexes 1869-1876 Ancestry[2]



To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes. Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438783.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, ‘’A Topographical Dictionary of England’’ (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 13 December 2013
  2. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 September 2014, at 15:11.
  • This page has been accessed 5,612 times.