Chartham, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png KentGotoarrow.pngKent Parishes

Guide to Chartham, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Chartham, Kent
Chartham St Mary Kent.jpg
Chartham St Mary Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Felborough
County Kent
Poor Law Union Bridge PLU
Registration District Bridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1565
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridge
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Chartham is a village and civil parish in the City of Canterbury district of Kent, see Chartham Wikipedia


Chartham is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you. The parish includes Horton, Chartham-Hatch, and Shalmsford-Street.
The parish Church of Chartham St Mary, Station Road, has been designated as a grade I listed building listed building

See also Kent Archeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 7 (1798), pp. 297-319 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Here is an important jurisdictional perspective by Samuel A. Lewis. CHARTHAM (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Bridge, hundred of Felborough, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent, 3 miles (S. W. by W.) from Canterbury; containing, with the of chapelry of Horton, 974 inhabitants. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

See Bridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Chartham, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3][4][5][6]
Chartham, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1655-1739

FMP 1558-1912 1558-1912 1559-1928; 1754-1822 (Banns) 1559-1928; 1754-1822 (Banns) 1558-1899 1558-1899

Land Tax

Images for Chartham are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Images for Land tax assessments for the borough of Tunford, including the parishes of Thannington, Harbledown, and Chartham, 1780-1832


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306867.


The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.


Poor Law Unions

Bridge Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 554-558. Date accessed: 15 April 2013
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  5. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  6. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 June 2014, at 17:08.
  • This page has been accessed 6,706 times.