Chatburn, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Chatburn, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chatburn, Lancashire
Christ Church, Chatburn Lancashire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackburn
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Clitheroe PLU
Registration District Clitheroe
Records begin
Parish registers: 1838
Bishop's Transcripts: 1838
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Whalley
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

CHATBURN,(Christ Church) was created a chapelry in 1838 and taken from, and lying within Whalley, union of Clitheroe, Higher division of the hundred of Blackburn, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 2¼ miles (N. E. by E.) from Clitheroe. This township is situated on the river Ribble, at the base of Pendle hill, and on the road from Clitheroe to Skipton. [1]

The village itself can be dated back to Anglo-Saxon times; it takes its name from one of the most distinguished characters of that time, St Chad. The village sits outside the Forest of Bowland and was never considered part of the ancient Lordship of Bowland.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Chatburn chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Whalley to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = findmypast
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg


CHATBURN CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry  (1801) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1801-1900 1834-1900 1801-1856
LOPC 1838-1900 1839-1900 1838-1900
LBMD None None None
WHALLEY ST MARY AND ALL SAINTS PARISH (1538) Indexes (ancient parish containing CHATBURN Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1538-1888 1539-1837 None
LOPC 1538-1601, 1605-1845, 1848-1860, 1862-1875 1539-1601, 1605-1647, 1653-1900 1538-1601, 1605-1840, 1843-1891
LBMD 1837-1937 None 1837-1937
FMP None 1539-1627 None
AC 1538-1601, 1605-1653
1538-1601, 1605-1653
1538-1601, 1605-1653
FREG 1538-1631 1539-1651 1538-?


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Chatburn and comprising the whole ancient parish of Whalley to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the WHALLEY PARISH page.


Parish registers for Christ Church, Chatburn, 1838-1900 Lancashire Record Office reference: PR 3184/1/1-5, 7-8


Bishop's transcripts for Chatburn, 1873-1874 Microfilm of original records at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston. Chatburn is a chapelry in the parish of Whalley.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306896.

Genealogy

Payne, Moira I. Hindle of Darwen. History, census and family tree of Thomas Hindle and betty Briggs with the following surnames: Greenough, Duxbury, Walsh, Smalley, Bentley, Chadwick, Duckworth, with a branch going to Canada, and 1 to Australia, dating 1758-1888, The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc Magazine, vol.9,no.2.pages 32-40, FHL Ref. 942.72 B2r

Poor Law Unions

Clitheroe Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Chatburn on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 554-558. Date accessed: 10 September 2013.
 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 4,558 times.